1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual Monitors

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by drsiuss, Sep 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drsiuss

    drsiuss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I am trying to enable dual monitors on my system using Dell S2409W(Digital) as my primary and Dell 2007WFP (Digital) as the secondary. The primary monitor works fine, but the secondary monitor can't detect a signal and remains "asleep". The computer recognizes the monitor exists, and the extended display is enabled (I can move my mouse off the primary into the blank secondary monitor). How should I resolve this problem? Listed below are the specs of my computer using the Tech Support Guy System Info Utility.


    Thanks in advance for taking the time to help



    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8173 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570, 1280 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 894717 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P8P67-M, Rev x.0x, MT7014044500110
    Antivirus: Norton Security Suite, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. fewkesy

    fewkesy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Have you tried simple troubleshooting such as hacking the secondary monitor works on its own and whether the setup would work with reversed roles? Should help narrow down the problem if we can know the outcome of these points.
     
  3. drsiuss

    drsiuss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Good news! I switched the cable ports for the monitors and now both work. I'm not sure why swapping the ports would solve the problem, but it did... weird. Thanks for taking the time to address my issue though.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1019695

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice