1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual monitors

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Evolvation, Apr 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Evolvation

    Evolvation Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Hi, I'd recently bought a VGA cable splitter to attempt to enable dual monitors onto my PC. I ran into some trouble with the dual monitors, I do have 2 monitors, 2 VGA cables, a splitter, and also 2 graphics cards. So when I plug in the 1 end of the splitter with the 2 other ends of it sticking out, I insert each VGA cable from each monitor to each end of the splitter. Both monitors turn on correctly and function properly, but they both show the same picture, and I'm trying to get one monitor to show my desktop and the other monitor able for me to slide other windows onto it. I've also tried connecting one VGA cable from one monitor do 1 of my graphics cards and the other VGA cable connected to the other monitor to the second graphics card but only one of the graphics cards will display my desktop. I recently bought the Galaxy GeForce GT620 graphics card, and I also have an integrated Radeon HD 6530D graphics card that was in my computer when I bought it. If you can support me in any way to get my dual monitors working I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!
     
  2. Dougx789

    Dougx789

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    A splitter does exsactly that.. it splits the video out to two monitors.. It can't create a second display.

    to have dual monitors you need two video outlets from your graphics card.

    Crossfire graphics cards improve the graphics.. you can't use both individually.

    So you need your graphics card to have two video outlets
     
  3. Evolvation

    Evolvation Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    So I can't have 2 graphics card and have 1 monitor displaying one graphics card and have the other monitor displaying the other graphics card?
     
  4. Dougx789

    Dougx789

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    If This is the graphics card you have bought it should be able to do dual monitors one via VGA and one via DVI
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    The Galaxy GT 620 already supports multiple monitors, you just need the matching cables or a converter for the second monitor. Post the exact monitors you are wishing to use.

    The Galaxy GT 620 as shown here: http://www.galaxytechus.com/usa/productview.aspx?id=185 Can support one monitor through VGA, and a second monitor through DVI-I.
    The DVI-I port can be converted to VGA with this adapter: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA0PG0H53640
    Or it can be converted to HDMI with this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA15P0GY1400

    Or if the monitor has DVI-D then a DVI-D to DVI-D cable like this would work: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812529068
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1097435

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice