1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dual nic 2003 server network config issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by uther-pendragon, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. uther-pendragon

    uther-pendragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I have 2003 server on a dual nic PC.
    there are 2 broadband connections coming into me.
    nic 1 (on board broadcom adapter) has Virgin Media broadband coming in via a netgear gigabit wireless router (DSL).
    nic 2 is a netgear GA311 REV A1 pci card connected to a bt hub.

    dns is running on both routers.

    I want my work pc's (home office) running on the virgin side of the network (which they are) and to see the server (which they can).

    I want my family pc's to work on the BT side of the network (which they are) but I also want them to see the server.

    The problem is, they cannot see the server even though it is connected by the second nic to this network.

    Any ideas would be appreciated.
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,440
    I need more information. What are your private addresses on both sides? Particularly the BT and Virgin Media side. I assume BT means British Telecom.
     
  3. uther-pendragon

    uther-pendragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    The virgin media dsl side ip 192.168.1.2 (for the server) and 192.168.1.1 for the gateway, dns,dhcp.

    The BT (British Telecom) adsl side is ip 192.168.1.65 (for the server) and 192.168.1.254 for the gateway, dns,dhcp.
     
  4. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,440
    Change either connection (Virgin or BT) to another subnet at say 192.168.2.0/24 (ie subnet mask of 255.255.255.0). Your server might be confused as to which connection to respond back on as both the Virgin and BT private address are all the same network. You can also try wiring a uplink between the Virgin and BT networks with either an ethernet cable or a switch and then plugging only one of the NICs into the switch or a free port on either the Virgin or BT network if you don't want to re-IP anything.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/698547