Duke Nukem: Forever Screen shot released!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bigk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
431
Hey every one,

3drealms the creator of Duke Nukem 3d has released a screen shot for Duke Nukem: Forever. Now this isn't a official screen shot of Duke Nukem: Forever. What I mean by that is, is that the ONLY purpose this screen shot was released to the public was to bring in more employees for the company and nothing more. The screen shot can be found on Gamasutra.com site. Here is a direct link to the advertisement:

Click here.

Here is the screen shot:



This is confirmed by the owner of the company that this is in fact a real screen shot from with in the game.

I guess I'll reconfirm what I said last night. That's an in game, real-time shot of Duke standing in a random hallway. It was really done as a small teaser for a job ad on Gamasutra.com. Nothing more.

I'm glad some of you enjoyed it, and we'll show more later as we start to wake from our slumber and decide how best to show the game off.
Now I know there are some people who don't even know who this Duke Nukem guy is. Duke Nukem 3D was a video game released in 1996-97 for the PC. The guy you play in Duke Nukem 3D is the same guy in the picture posted above. Ever since Dike Nukem 3D was released they have been making Duke Nukem: Forever.

This game has been in devolopment for almost 10 years now and its been 5 years since they've released any type of media.

Here is a link to wikipedia that goes into greater detail about Duke Nukem: Forever. Click here.

Bigk :)
 

PCG342

Banned
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
772
I've heard a lot of complaints about this, as well as cries of "Action Figure!"
If I have a good enough system, I may check this out someday.
If it's ever released, that is...
Duke I, II, and 3D bring back awesome childhood memories. Great games. Good times.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
COME GET SOME...

DN3D was very much a fun game... the pole dancers, adult theater (for which a map was made for UT-99 in whch if ya hit a switch, the a 5 or so seconds clip of actual porn would play on the screen... while people were blasting away at each other heheh)...

Not holding my breath. I think they are more famous for taking "forever" to come out with the game than anything else. When it comes out, it has to be THE GAME, period... or with all the time people will riot across the USA... ;) For the most part, I think most people have gotten to the point of "who cares"? Serious Sam is very much a Duke-NUkem Game - its silly and mindless killing, but SS is SILLY - Duke Nukem Is attitude.

BTW, I went to the site - checked out PREY (never looked at it much before) funny, it took me about a second to recognise the Doom3 engine. [which I easily confirmed]

Is it bad when you can look at a game and KNOW what Engine tech its using? Gears of War was obviously the Unreal3 engine. The use of lighting and enviroments is what I think is the difference. UE3 is more about vast out-door (with excellent indoor) - while D3E is about shadows and indoor action.

PS: DL the prey demo (450mb) - only 15mins - Love cable!
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
hey... I DLed the PREY demo and played it... I enjoyed it quite a lot - more fun than DOOM3, and your character has some attuide. He isn't DUKE - but very well done... and funny at times..

Drops into a room "That was f'ed up.... oh this is really f'ed up" -

note: Prey's profanity function is defaulted to ON.

It plays very good on my SLOW singlecore AMD64-3000 with GeForce7600GT in 1600x1200 with MAX DETAILS. I've only had some vertical sync issues with pre-cammed fast-moving scens (like when going through the worm-whole effect).
 

bigk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
431
I just recently (like 4-5 days ago) bought the Limited Collectors edition of prey for $20 bucks at best buy. When I played both the demo and the full version I had to turn all the settings to the lowest possible. There were some areas where the game would start to slow down, other then that I think my pc did pretty good for that game. (Also click on the computer near my name and you'll see the spec's for my pc.)

Also I actually turned the profanity off when I discovered that I could turn it off and on. :) (That's just me.) Oh and by the way if you manage to pick up a full version copy of prey SAVE YOUR SAVED GAMES. The owners of 3drealms said you can actually take your saved games from the demo and use them in the full version game.

Bigk :)
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
okay, I'll be on the look out for it... whats special about the LC version?

Your PC's spec is way below standards for modern games. My somewhat low-end PC (compared to a C2D-Extreme/8800GTX) - plays the beautifully in 1600x1200 max details, no bull. (I also have a clean running system / 2GB RAM / no IM or P2P or junkware) My System tray only has : clock, Firewall, AntiVirus, Speaker and mouse... no Norton junk.

I use ATI9550 (which are the same as 9250s for the most part) for clients with office PCs because they are low-cost and include a DVI port.

- 512mb more RAM will help
- A GeForce 7600GT ($200 for AGP version) or ATI 1800x/Pro (About $225) would make a difference... But nothing will help the P4.

If you're looking at playing NEW games anyways... save and prep for an upgrade.
 

bigk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
431
Oh I do plan on upgrading my pc and I would like to get a 8800 gtx, but its to much for me right now. I'll wait until it hits the $200 dollars mark. One of the reasons I want to get it that card is because its the first card that supports Direct X 10.

As for what comes with the Prey Limited Collectors edition:

Limited Collector's Edition includes DVD-ROM version of the game, pewter die-cast figurines of Tommy and the alien Hunter, The Art of Prey book featuring conceptual and development images from the artists behind Prey and an exclusive tin package.

bigk:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top