Dumb Question! LOL

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

moonifa

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
149
Hello! I have a friend who has a Compaq Presario MV700 and she doesn't know where to plug in her headphones. I am not familiar with Compaq but went to their website and checked out their sound problem area even though her speakers and sound are working fine.

It said to unplug the speakers and plug in headphones into the speaker out jack to see if sound worked then. But surely there is another place for her to plug into?

She said there was no place to plug into on the back of her sound card or in front of the cd drive itself. She says it is only five years old so I know there has to be a place for them! Does anyone else have one of these?

Thank you very much for your time! Moonifa :)
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
188
Is there a green port in which you can plug it into (usually they are green) Also look for a little microphone label on all of the ports
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
That would be the standard way to use (plugging into the speaker jack). There is usually a spot on the front of the cd-rom that will take a headphone jack, BUT the output is not amplified as it would be at the speaker jack. The volume would be extremely low.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
Look on the front of the speakers themselves. There is often a minijack receptical there for headphones.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
188
Yes... and I wouldn't plug the headphones into the CDROM drive... you'd have to play with a bunch of configurations to get it to work.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Mr. PC Doc said:
Yes... and I wouldn't plug the headphones into the CDROM drive... you'd have to play with a bunch of configurations to get it to work.
Call me crazy, but my ill-gotten airline headphones work fine in the front of my cdrom drive.....no hoops to jump thru either, just plugged them in ;)
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4,022
AcaCandy said:
Call me crazy, but my ill-gotten airline headphones work fine in the front of my cdrom drive.....no hoops to jump thru either, just plugged them in ;)
Ditto and I use my cheapees there when converting LP's to digital burns to keep track of decibel changes in a needed flat audio environment. Now what was the reason to leave TSG?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top