1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Duplicate Wireless Networks

Discussion in 'Networking' started by joe capo, Jul 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joe capo

    joe capo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Im running Windows XP on my desktop and installed an HP printer J6480. I'm trying to set it up wirelessly so that I can print from my laptop without having the desktop powered on. I do have a wireless network name (SSID), etc...

    I can print, however, the desktop has to be powered up and i want to be able to print from my latop without having the desktop on..

    When I tried to set up the wireless connection for the printer, I get a message saying that there are duplicate wireless networks and cannot find the printer.

    I have a boradband Linksys router WRT54GS.

    how can I get rid of the duplicate wireless network and how can I get the printing function to work wirelessly?

    What other information do I need to provide you in order to solve my problem?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I suggest a wired network connection to the printer, I'll be a lot easier to get going and keep running.
     
  3. joe capo

    joe capo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    I understand that having it wired is a lot easier, but thats not what I want. I wouldn't have bothered to contact the experts if it were easy.

    I should add or clarify that I can print from my laptop wirelessly, but I can't get my printer to print from my laptop without having the desktop powered on.
    As I stated in my original thread, I am trying to get my HP printer J6480 to print from my laptop without having to have the desktop on. When I go through the setup process using the installation CD with the printer, I followed the directions and when it came to the part where it asked for the SSID and I entered it, it said it couldn't recognize it because there were duplicate wireless networks with the same name and said it couldn't find the printer.
     
  4. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,371
    If there is another wireless network broadcasting which you're trying to use the same name for the SSID, you can't. You'll have to pick a unique SSID for your printer.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    post back the following , so we can see all the networks in your area
    Use on which ever PC is using a wireless connection

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. joe capo

    joe capo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    I believe thats the problem; 2 wireless names with the same SSID. As I go through the setup of the printer to have it wireless, the setup provides me with the names of the networks and there are 2 of them with the smae name; one with WEP and one with WPA. The WEP name is the one I want to use and when I highlight it and go to the next step, the setup program says it cant find the printer. Maybe I need to call linksys to find out how to get rid of the duplicate network, which I don't remember how it got created..
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Change the name of your SSID and remove all the stored wireless network profiles and try to connect.
     
  8. joe capo

    joe capo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    John, yes, I think that will do it but how do I change the name of the SSID and remove the duplicate SSID network or the wireless network profiles.

    i am not very versed in networking..
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    if you change your SSID to something thats not in your area - it will not be duplicate
    if you dont have a user manual - one is here http://www.linksysbycisco.com/SA/en/support/WRT54GS/download
    i used the version 7 hardware
    You will need to log into the router - do that with a PC connected to the router by cable
    See Page 8 starts to talks about the SSID and shows how to change it on the wireless configuration part of the router settings
     
  10. joe capo

    joe capo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you for your suggestion. I had logged into the router just to verify the WEP key when it was asked for during the setup of the printer, but I only saw 1 SSID and it had the correct WEP key that I knew of when I originally set up the wireless network a couple of years ago so that I could use the wireless for my laptops located in other rooms.. I would think you would see all the SSIDs for that router, but again I am not very knowledgeable about networks.

    Is there a way to delete the WPA SSID even though I can't see it in the router. Somewhere, that WPA network was created and I don't know how and where it is.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    The SSID is the name that is broadcast by routers - so you are picking up other networks in your area, which you have no control over
    So if you change your SSID name (make sure you don't use any name that is being broadcast, hence the request for the xirrus ) and use that name for the printer you will be OK

    All WRT54GS will have a default name - infact the name may be the same on all Linksys Routers and so anyone who buys a linksys router in your area will broadcast that SSID and so you may even have 3 or 4

    hope that helps
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/936507