1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DVD Capacity question

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by cmcnally, May 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cmcnally

cmcnally Thread Starter

I'm new to burning DVDs and am having some issues with how much data they can hold. I'm using a Iomega External DVD drive. I'm not sure what model it is, but it shows up as LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-1635 USB Device in my Device Manager. I'm using Philips 4.7 GB 1-16x DVD-R discs, and I have both Iomega Hotburn Pro, and UltraISO installed for burning. (I previously had Nero 7 on this machine, and it didn't really run so well.) When I use the Iomega software, I get a message that there isn't enough room on the DVD if I try to burn more than approximately 4.2 gigs. With UltraISO, I get a message that says "Error Reserving Zone for Burn" when trying to burn a 4.67 Gig DVD. (I'm trying to burn 28 rar files that total 4.67 gigs.) My question: if the DVDs say 4.7 gigs, why am I having these issues? Are there some burner settings I need to adjust? Do I have the wrong drivers installed? Is there some kind of index that takes up half a gig, and if so, can I eliminate it?

2. emoxley

emoxley

Every blank disc has info on it about the manufacturer, the disc ID code, info on being a +R, or -R, or RW, or DL disc, etc...........
    This info takes a little space. That's what you're running into.
    Even though they're a little expensive, if your burner is capable, you can get and burn to a double layer disc. They hold 8.5 GB.
    Good luck! :)

3. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck

http://www.imation.com/support/products/dvd_media.html