1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DVD Drive not working properly

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Annette7, Apr 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    My DVD drive does not autoplay. I have to go into Windows Media Player and start it there.
    When I try to copy the dvd to my hard drive this does not work either.
    Can anyone help
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,169
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Do you have autoplay enabled and set to Windows Media Player for DVDs in that drive?

    Most, if not all, commercial movie DVDs use encrypted copy protection. That prevents copying the DVD to another DVD or to a hard drive.
     
  3. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,169
    First Name:
    Chuck
    And your operating system is ....?

    For Windows XP:

    ~ Open "My Computer".

    ~ Right click on the drive and select "Properties" from the pop-up menu.

    ~ Click the "Autoplay" tab

    ~ Select the content type in the top box and then choose the action in the bottom box.

    ~ Click the OK button to save the new settings.
     
  5. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks
    I did that but it still does not autoplay
    I have alreaedy copied the DVD on to another DVD through Roxio but when I copy it to my hard drive it comes up as two different folders named AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS
    When I click on one of the files inside the VIDEO folder which has the QUickTime icon and at the side it reads - VIVEO_TS BUP File 14 KB -
    I then receive the following Error message -
    Error -2048: Couldn't open the file VIDEO_TS BUP. because it is no a file that QuickTime understands.
    I downloaded 'DVDFab HD Decrypter 4' to try and copy it to my hard drive.
    HELP!!!
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,169
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Sorry about that. I had thought you were trying to autoplay a commercial DVD but it sounds like you are trying to autoplay some type of burned DVD. Trying to debug autoplay problems with burned DVDs is beyond my knowledge level. Maybe someone else here can help out.
     
  7. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Oops I guess I didn't make myself clear, sorry
    Yes it is a commercial DVD but what I meant was I have already copied it so it can't have copy protection on it
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    So, what you have is an illegal copy and you're having trouble with it. Sorry, but we don't assist with illegal media copies, you need to read the TSG Rules.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701570

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice