DVD Player not working

roadwarrior138

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
8
PC 2016 Build
CPU i7-6700 3.4Ghz
Ram - G.Skill 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 Ripjaws V red
Motherboard - Gigabyte H170 LGA 1151
GPU - GTX1060 SC
Optical Drive - ASUS DRW-245D5MT
Hard Drives - 1) SSD - Windows 10, 2) SATA Windows 7, 3) SATA Linux OS, 4) SATA - Data drive for Windows 10 OS
Problem - DVD player runs but does not load data, continues to 'blink' but as if it's stuck in a loop.
Tried different SATA cable, different ports, different DVD players but no effect. DVDs load in other PC's.
Original DVD player works okay on different PC
Ram test in Windows - No errors, then Ram test in Linux (more comprehensive), no errors.
PC refuses to load DVDs regardless of what DVD player installed or in either Windows or Linux OS's
Other - of late occasional momentary ceasing of system and occasional lagging in Minecraft
No Virus, Spamware etc., affecting system.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,655
Hi roadwarrior138 , and welcome to TSG.

One thing comes to mind. Have you checked the BIOS settings to make sure the SATA port for the drive is enabled? Beyond that, does the drive show up in Windows File Explorer. Does it show in Windows Hardware Device Manager for both versions of Windows without any errors or warnings?
 

roadwarrior138

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
8
Hi roadwarrior138 , and welcome to TSG.

One thing comes to mind. Have you checked the BIOS settings to make sure the SATA port for the drive is enabled? Beyond that, does the drive show up in Windows File Explorer. Does it show in Windows Hardware Device Manager for both versions of Windows without any errors or warnings?
I have yet to check Bios. DVD shows in explorer and in the Linux system as well, but trying to access the item results in no action at all.
Now checked Bios- registers DVD player. Reset Bios, no result.
 
Last edited:

cwwozniak

Chuck
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,655
How about them showing up in the Windows Hardware Device Manager?
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,655
Does Windows file explorer even show that a CD or DVD (check with both) is in the drive when you put one in?

Does your anti-virus software automatically scan any inserted disc?
 

roadwarrior138

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
8
Regarding Anti-Virus software.
Linux does not normally require Anti-Virus software, also you must realise that anti-virus software is not enough on its own to protect a Microsoft system. You need other specialists software, which I have installed, to fully protect the system. So, I can guarantee there are no infections affecting my PC or any of the discs I inserted.
 

roadwarrior138

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
8
The File explorer does show that I have an optical drive, the Bios also recognises it as well, but if you click on it, apart from the drive showing activity, nothin happens.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,658
This "might" help in Windows. It might be a problem with autoplay. Not sure why it doesn't work in Linux though.
AutoPlay feature in Microsoft Windows examines newly discovered removable media and devices and, based on content such as pictures, music or video files, it helps launch an appropriate application to play or display the content. If AutoPlay is disabled, nothing may happen when a disc is inserted. Follow the steps below to set the AutoPlay settings to defaults.
For Windows 10, Windows 8.1 or Windows 8:
  1. Press the Windows key + R to open the Run dialog box.
  2. In the Run dialog box, type control then press the Enter key.
  3. Double-click the AutoPlay icon.
  4. Ensure you check the Use AutoPlay for all media and devices check box.
  5. Select every drop-down menu and choose Ask me every time next to every DVD, Blu-ray, and CD item, and then click Save.
 

roadwarrior138

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
8
Just to establish the facts.
Optical Drive(s) works perfectly in other PCs
DATA cable in perfect working order.
SATA connection okay
All DVDs inserted work perfectly in other PCs.
Bios has been reset twice
Ram tested twice (Windows & Linux) - no errors
Explorer picks up the presence of Optical drive, recognises content on just a couple of discs after some delay.
Linux is the same recognising only a couple of Discs but all other discs work fine in other PCs.
Reset AutoPlay.
Beginning to think the machine is infected with COVID-19
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,658
I haven't a clue what is wrong, sorry.

One last thing. Disconnect drive #2 Win 7 and drive #3 linux.
So you'll have the Win 10 ssd, the Win 10 data disk and the DVD drive.

Does it work now?
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,936
Maybe try swapping the known working power and sata cables connected to one of the hard drives over onto the DVD and see if it works then.
 

roadwarrior138

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
8
Thanks for all the help, I have tried all suggestions and I tested the voltage to the Optical drive, which is 5.5v and correct.
I have now reached the conclusion that it can only be and must be the Bios which leaves me with two options.
a) Upgrade the Bios, but this is fraught with danger and no guarantee to solve the problem.
b) use the Pc as a spare, I would like to get back into programming after a 30-year layoff and this would be ideal.
In nearly forty years of messing about with computers, I have never come across such a vexing problem.
Thanks to all that replied
 

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,032
Have you tried using a different DVD drive (aside from the Asus)?

It's not usually an issue with DVD drives, but when I upgraded to Blu-Ray drives, one drive wouldn't work in my server, but a second (different brand) worked just fine. I had a couple of topics open over multiple days trying to get the first drive to work and no one could figure it out.
 

roadwarrior138

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
8
Hi Oddba11,
yes, different makes of DVD player were tried.
In regard to your Blu-Ray, was the region set correct?
It could be that it was set to the wrong region
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top