Solved DVD player not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Terryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
260
I have not used my cdplayer for a long time on my desktop W7.
I tried to play a music CD on drive E but nothing is happening. I used to just insert dvd and it would play.
Tried to access it directly from VLC media player but it is give me an error :
I have VLC and Windows media player.
Log :
Your i/p cannot be opened. VLC is unable to open MRL.
'DVD:///E:/' Check log for details
Anything to do with W7 ?

Any help. Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
410
Without anything else installed Windows Media Player should automatically play the CD.
If you install VLC a message should pop up asking you which program do you want to use.
Since you already have VLC it is probably the current default program to play CDs.
Have you tried reinstalling VLC?
BTW, I just tried a CD. It plays with either Windows Media Player or VLC on Windows 7 Home.

2021-05-10 08_41_23-AutoPlay.png
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,200
It is possible the drive has failed. As a quick test, boot the system with a bootable CD or if this is a CD/DVD, you can use a bootable dvd. If the system fails to boot with a bootable disk in the drive, you know the drive has failed.
 

Terryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
260
Hi Guys, thanks for your replies. I re-installed VLC media player and I also tried it on the Windows media player and am still getting the same error message - unable to open MRL.
I'll have a re think on this. My desktop W7 is over 10 years old maybe need an upgrade to W10.
Many thanks
Terryl.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,856
My desktop W7 is over 10 years old maybe need an upgrade to W10.
Terryl:
If your desktop computer is able to load its Windows operating system and has a working internet connection, please do the following in it:

Download and save the tsginfo.exe file.
After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
Information about your desktop computer will appear.
Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

------------------------------------------------
 

Terryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
260
Hi Flavallee,
Here is the tsginfo download:
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit, Build 7601, Installed 20091030115449.000000+000
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 630 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 2, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 4 GB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series, 512 MB
Hard Drives: C: 447 GB (339 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78-VM IN/SI, ver Rev X.0x, s/n MF7099G01300436
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver NEC - 20090715, s/n System Serial Number
Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Enabled and Updated

I tried allowing VLC thru the firewall but did not work,
Thanks
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,856
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit, Build 7601, Installed 20091030115449.000000+000
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 630 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 2, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 4 GB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series, 512 MB
Hard Drives: C: 447 GB (339 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78-VM IN/SI, ver Rev X.0x, s/n MF7099G01300436
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver NEC - 20090715, s/n System Serial Number
Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Enabled and Updated
It appears that Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit was installed in your desktop computer in October 2009.
Was it kept up-to-date until official support ended for it in January 2020?

Your desktop computer's ASUS motherboard has 4 SATA ports, so I'm going to assume it has a SATA disc drive(s).
Go into the Device Manager, then expand the DVD/CD-ROM drives heading.
What is the exact name(s) of the disc drive(s) listed there?

--------------------------------------------------
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
24,677
I just looked at the firewall settings on my Windows 7 desktop computer. I too use MS Security Essentials.
Here is what I have for firewall
WMP.gif

Note, WMP is allowed and yet I NEVER use it. VLC is my default player for everything and it isn't showing on the list.
 

Terryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
260
My DVD/CD-ROM drive list is TSST corp CDDVDW SH-S223C ATA device
I allowed VLC on my firewall. Although it was never ticked, it used to work because it was autoplay.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
410
It appears that Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit was installed in your desktop computer in October 2009.
Was it kept up-to-date until official support ended for it in January 2020?

Your desktop computer's ASUS motherboard has 4 SATA ports, so I'm going to assume it has a SATA disc drive(s).
Go into the Device Manager, then expand the DVD/CD-ROM drives heading.
What is the exact name(s) of the disc drive(s) listed there?

--------------------------------------------------
I am asking you because your expertise. Would a corrupted driver cause this problem with the optical drive? It is either that or a hardware problem.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,200
My DVD/CD-ROM drive list is TSST corp CDDVDW SH-S223C ATA device
I allowed VLC on my firewall. Although it was never ticked, it used to work because it was autoplay.
There is a very easy way to find out if the problem is with your system/configuration or a failed drive. Do what was outlined in post #3. That will tell you in seconds where the problem lies.
 
Last edited:

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,856
My DVD/CD-ROM drive list is TSST corp CDDVDW SH-S223C ATA device
All of the firmware updates for that disc drive are dated September 2009 - July 2011, so that disc drive is obviously several years old.

Double-click that disc drive description in the Device Manager so its properties window can load.
Click the "Details" tab, then click "Hardware Ids" in the drop-down list.
What is the 4-character firmware version that is listed in those strings?

-------------------------------------------------

Also respond to posts #3 and #11.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,856
SB01 is the firmware version that was released in September 2009.
SB07 is the most current firmware version which was released in July 2011.
https://www.firmwarehq.com/download_1886-file_SH-S223C_SB07.exe.html

I don't know if updating the firmware will help with your issue.
I'll pass to crjdriver to advise you whether to do it or not.

Have you tried to do what crjdriver advised you to do in post #3?

--------------------------------------------------
 

Terryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
260
I do not have a bootable dvd. However, I tried the microsoft office student disc to see if it boots up, nothing happened. It looks like the dvd driver is dead !
I haven't used it for over a year, I have been using the flash driver.
All microsoft update done up to Jan 2020. Let me know if the firmware SB07 is worth a try.
Thank you all for your input.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top