1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dvd-r and dvd-rw

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by twizzie, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. twizzie

twizzie Thread Starter

I was wondering if dvd-r and dvd-rw are the same thing

2. DKTaber

DKTaber

I'm not an expert on DVD's, but you can write anything to DVD-Rs that you can to DVD-RWs. However, I assume you realize that DVD-RWs are eraseable and reusable while DVD-Rs are not (which is why they sell them in large packs). DVD-Rs are far more stable, but can be written to only once. The end result of recording on a DVD-RW or DVD-R would be the same. . . BUT recording to a DVD-R is a one-time event. Take your pick.

3. twizzie

twizzie Thread Starter

thanks for that, I think about which one to buy

4. twizzie

twizzie Thread Starter

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

It depends on what you plan on doing with them. Keep in mind that DVD+R and DVD-R are more compatible with DVD players, especially older ones. Also, DVD+RW disks are not a pillar of reliability, so if you plan on long term data storage, that's not the format to pick.

I have a few DVVD+RW disks around, but I use DVD-R and DVD+R for long term storage and video DVD creation.

6. firestormer

firestormer

I generaly buy DVD-RW i plan to keep the disk for myself. say as a backup disk.

but if i plan to give the disk away i will usualy use DVD-R

7. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

RW disks should not be used for backing up data. They're not as reliable as -R disks.

8. firestormer

firestormer

Thanks for the info.

Despite that i will probably still use DVD-RW for my document backup, And if i do find i need to use them and they are corrupt, i will have plenty more backups else where to do the job.