dvd-r and dvd-rw

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
I'm not an expert on DVD's, but you can write anything to DVD-Rs that you can to DVD-RWs. However, I assume you realize that DVD-RWs are eraseable and reusable while DVD-Rs are not (which is why they sell them in large packs). DVD-Rs are far more stable, but can be written to only once. The end result of recording on a DVD-RW or DVD-R would be the same. . . BUT recording to a DVD-R is a one-time event. Take your pick.

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
It depends on what you plan on doing with them. Keep in mind that DVD+R and DVD-R are more compatible with DVD players, especially older ones. Also, DVD+RW disks are not a pillar of reliability, so if you plan on long term data storage, that's not the format to pick.

I have a few DVVD+RW disks around, but I use DVD-R and DVD+R for long term storage and video DVD creation.

I generaly buy DVD-RW i plan to keep the disk for myself. say as a backup disk.

but if i plan to give the disk away i will usualy use DVD-R

DoubleHelix

Banned
RW disks should not be used for backing up data. They're not as reliable as -R disks.

Thanks for the info.

Despite that i will probably still use DVD-RW for my document backup, And if i do find i need to use them and they are corrupt, i will have plenty more backups else where to do the job.

DVD-RW provide a cheap regular backup alternetive to HD's and Tapes.

The best use I've found for DVD-RW's and CD-RW's is for testing purposes. If I'm having a problem burning something, I try it out on an RW until I get it to work, then burn it to an R.

It's a key part of my coaster reduction plan. :cool:

twizzie

oo i c, sort of, anyway, i just got a dvd-r 50 pack today, my objective is to compress the movies, then fit em in there, thanks for the replies

MysticEyes

Banned