1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DVD sound distorts and fades in and out

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by solidius, Oct 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. solidius

    solidius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I'm not sure where to post this in the forum, I'm hoping this is the right section. Whenever I try to play a DVD in my laptop, the sound gets all messed up. It fades in and out, distorts, and makes WEIRD noises related to the distortion I assume. I can watch ANY type of video file and not a have problem, even watch AVI's burned onto a DVD, but whenever I try to put a DVD in the sounds gets all messed up. I just recently got an I/O magic external DVD burner, but I haven't played DVD's in my laptop for about 2 months so I don't know how long this has been going on. However I'm not sure this is related because there was no install software. It works as soon as you plug it in basically. Plus I tried unplugging the DVD burner and I still get the same result. Anyways, ALL help is appreciated.
     
  2. Yager

    Yager

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    I'm gusseing it's taking too much power from you CPU and cannot push a DVD, I'm having the same prob on my Desktop since I put in a very powefull DVD/CD Player burner.

    I don't know how to fix it either other than getting a new more powerfull CPU. :mad:
     
  3. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    Have you tried playing a DVD with the external?
     
  4. solidius

    solidius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I have actually tried playing it in the external and I still get the same result. I'm at a total loss here. I'm usually pretty computer savvy, but I'm not understand this one AT ALL.
     
  5. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    I assume you've cleaned the disk and tried others.
     
  6. solidius

    solidius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I've tried a few different discs, and I get the same result with them all. And I tried cleaning them too, but a couple of em are practically brand new. Like I said, I'm at a total loss here.
     
  7. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Is it just the sound only but the image is alright??
     
  8. solidius

    solidius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Yeah the image is perfectly fine, just the sound is all messed up.
     
  9. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Have you tried it with different players like PowerDVD or some others coild be a codec problem.
     
  10. solidius

    solidius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I've tried powerdvd, intervideo, windows media, real player and I get the same result. As far as I know I have the most recent codecs.
     
  11. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  12. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    Try this player, it needs no codecs to be installed.

    http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
     
  13. solidius

    solidius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    That video lan player plays dvd's fine so far. So what do I have to do to get intervideo or media player to work? This has to be some sort of codec issue then, right? They use to play dvd's just fine. Am I gonna have to re install all my codecs or something?
     
  14. solidius

    solidius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    By the way mystic eyes, thanks for that link. The player works GREAT. I think I'm gonna use it as my default from now on. When you said it doesn't need codecs to be installed, it still has to USE the codecs on my computer to decode the video right? Just wondering how it works.
     
  15. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    No, it's more or less self contained and doesn't rely on installing or installed codecs you may have.

    If you want to try one more thing install this, and see if it helps, if not, it is easily removed though add/remove.

    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/codecs_and_filters/ffdshow.cfm
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/405213

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice