1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

E Machine XP install Prob

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by HPgeek, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HPgeek

HPgeek Thread Starter

To start I am a rookie, hense my mess! I was trying to help a friend fix a problem (the PC would say something like "Windows was improperly shut down... 1) Restore to last known good restore point 2) Start Windows normally and 30 I dont recall. ) any of these selections took you to a black screen that wouldnt let you do anything. So, on the advice of a "friend" I ran "Wipe Disk" and cleared the HD. Now I was told to just insert the XP disk and fire it up and re enstall it. It wont work. I went to the Bios and the CD rom is the 1st boot priority but still no luck. I even tried Dos prompt and typed "setup" and says something about it not being Dos executable. What do I need to do? I am now trying to help friend via phone and it is even more confusing. How do I get XP back on this "E-Machine"?

HPgeek

2. angel

angel

When you say "it won't work", does it even try to boot from the cd?

3. HPgeek

HPgeek Thread Starter

It comes up with a black screen with a flashing underline cursor. The only way I can do anything is by leaving the "WipeDisk" floppy in. But then it bypasses the CDrom and pulls the floppy up. I dont get this either as in the BIOS it has CDrom 1st

4. HPgeek

HPgeek Thread Starter

if I leave it in I am informed c: is not formated something about Fat32. I think a walk through of the "right" way to install would help. Doing this by phone doesnt help much either, LOL

5. angel

angel

And we are sure that the cd-rom drive is functional? Is it detected properly? By chance have another bootable cd to try?

6. HPgeek

HPgeek Thread Starter