1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Earthlink has it owns virus blocker????

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by HBLEAV, Jun 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HBLEAV

    HBLEAV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Hi All.. This is something that must be new.. or new to me.. Has anyone every seen this before..

    I got this message. and I do have Earthlink.. and have dial-up and the person sending the message IS someone I talk to daily..so that part is totally legit..

    I dont' have symantac.. I use McAffee.. So this was interesting to find that Earthlink - has its' own virus blocker..


    **************************************
    EARTHLINK VIRUS BLOCKER MESSAGE STATUS
    **************************************

    MESSAGE QUARANTINED

    Virus Detected: Container depth violation - scan incomplete.

    Message Details:
    From: "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    To: "Helene xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Subject: FW: Do you know her?
    Date: Sun, 6 Jun 2004 07:04:44 -0400


    EarthLink Virus Blocker has quarantined a message sent to
    you because it contains a virus that cannot be removed or
    disabled.

    Quarantined messages are automatically deleted three days
    after they are received.

    To learn how to access quarantined messages, visit:

    http://www.earthlink.net/myaccount/help/virusblocker/#quarantine


    *******************
    Powered by Symantec
     
  2. shadowcat

    shadowcat

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,282
  3. HBLEAV

    HBLEAV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Hi Shadowcat..
    thanks for the info. I just checked it out.. But the funny thing. I dont' pay for it. I have earthlink dial-up and the only other thing I have from earthink, is their accelerator.. and their pop up blocker..

    I use McAfee. and I even did a search for symantac. and nothing came up.. So it's strange.. But I'm glad it caught - it before it came to my machine..

    Thanks again.
    helene
     
  4. HBLEAV

    HBLEAV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Oh, forgot.. also have Earthlinks. spamanator activated..
     
  5. shadowcat

    shadowcat

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,282
    This is a new service from Earthlink and they may be offering it "free" for now and charge later. I'm not sure. The office uses Earthlink, but I don't use their dial up software -- I don't need it and it slows down the computer unnecessarily (but there is nothing wrong with it).
     
  6. HBLEAV

    HBLEAV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Thanks.. As long as it's free...LOL.. I wouldnt' pay for it.. Cause I have McAfee..

    Helene
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/236267