1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Easy n Hard question! Or is it (Excel)

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by THE_SAINT, Feb 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. THE_SAINT

    THE_SAINT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Ok. Working in Excel. The first part is easy, im looking to protect a single cell from change unless a password is given, or it can be permenantly protected, dont mind either way.
    Now this is where it gets a spot harder. The cell i want to protect is auto updated every time i open the sheet, like you would expect to see in an invoice numbering sytem. The cell auto update must not be effected. So basicaly im looking to make the cell tamper proof, so that muppets cant fiddle the system.
    Thanks all.
     
  2. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    What's the difficulty? LOL

    Ctrl+A
    Format-Cells, Protection tab.
    Uncheck Locked.

    Select your single cell.
    Lock it.

    Tools-Protection-Protect Worksheet.

    That's it.

    I assume you've got the auto-updating on the field taken care of?
     
  3. THE_SAINT

    THE_SAINT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Ya, i got the Auto field update working, will implement your suggestion later n hope the field still auto updates.
    Keep up the good work.
    Ant :p
     
  4. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    It will still auto-update. Of course, you may have to hit F9 to have it do so.
     
  5. THE_SAINT

    THE_SAINT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Ok thanks for getting that cell protected for me. But as i suspected the cell is protected good and proper and doesn't allow my autoupdate to function now.
    I would be suprised if there wasn't a solution as im sure many
    people set up invoices in this way, and dont want the job specific invoice number to be tampered with.
    Any ideas anyone would be appreciated.

    Do not take life to seriously,
    you will never get out of it alive!
     
  6. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119716

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice