1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ecs Motherboard Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by carlosx725, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. carlosx725

    carlosx725 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    My kids compu has a K7VMM mobo. I tried to upgrade to a athlon XP cpu but it appeared to be faulty and wouldnt boot up....I reinstalled to old CPU (duron 1400) but now it doesnt not want to reboot...I all get is the beep sound...after I played around with the reset jumper awhile it finally booted up
    and ran...my daughter turned it off and now I am having the same problems
    again, it will not bootup..all i get is the beep sound...how can I fix it?
    spec as follows" cpu:duron 1400/512 ddr266mhz/wdhdd40gb/toshiba dvd rom/
    nvidiamx420card/motorola wireless lan card

    carlos
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    if you just get the one beep,it is posting correctly
    when you reset the cmos by the jumpers,it sets it to default settings.
    then when you turn it on go into the bios and set it up.
    if you are getting a series of beeps then they are pinpointing the problem.
    you can check them here
    www.bioscentral.com
    when you have fitted the cpu you may have dislodged something without realising it
    check all cable connection
    check all the fans are turning
    reseat the video and ram
     
  3. carlosx725

    carlosx725 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Okay It beeps 3 times;according to the website" A memory failure has occurred in the first 64K of RAM. The RAM IC is probably bad"
    what does this mean and is there a way to fix?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    First make sure the RAM is seated properly in the slot. Pull it out and then reseated the RAM, this will make sure it is seated correctly and there is good contact.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220691

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice