1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Edimax wireless modem router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Phillbo, Jan 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Phillbo

    Phillbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I have the above mentioned router and when I set it up and try to log onto the router the page takes ages to come up and when it does it's incomplete .will there be anything I have running that will cause this to happen IE firewall-antivirus or any other program.Also do I need to have my McAfee firewall running aswell as the firewall on the router?

    Host comp Wind XP
    Client comp Win ME

    Any help gratefully accepted thanks

    Thanks PHILLBO
     
  2. coulterp

    coulterp

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    Is your wireless router a router/modem? Or do you have a separate modem (make/model)? What's the model number of the Eidmax?

    How are you trying to connect to the router? By wire or wireless. You should try to get your configuration work done over the wired connection in the first instance.

    My personal view is that for belt-and-braces security you should have both HW and SW firewalls.

    Having a software firewall in place is especially useful in preventing unwanted OUTGOING internet accesses, i.e. for the situation where, despite your best endeavours, a rogue program has got into your system (e.g. a pay-load on an email your anti-virus missed or a nasty picked up on a web-site) and starts calling out - you definitely don't want that. Your hardware firewall will not stop these because the attack is originating from your LAN by a program activited by your PC(s); the router thinks this traffic is good/safe and would allow it through. This is where SW firewalls like Zonealarm, McAfee or Norton Personal Firewall, etc save the day!
     
  3. Phillbo

    Phillbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Is your wireless router a router/modem? Yes
    What's the model number of the Eidmax? AR 6024WGA (wireless 11g ADSL Router)
    I wired it to the host comp and set it up but could not log in properly window did come up but not complete and not responding
     
  4. coulterp

    coulterp

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    You've followed Steps 1 - 7 (pgs 12-14) of the user manual (AR-6024WG_M.pdf) exactly to try to get to the logon page? Doing all the release/renew IP (Step 5) as described in the manual. And it is the Home page that is not completely displaying?

    It is the XP PC you are using. Is the XP firewall off? (in XP SP2 the XP firewall is on by default). Switch any other SW firewalls off (only until you get a stable working environment then you can look at switching them on again).
     
  5. Phillbo

    Phillbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Yes to all above!But tried it again and now the home page displays and I can access all settings-But I can't get it to log on to the internet tried altering settings manually also with AOL internet set up but no luck.AOL icon on task bar said it was connected.In internet connections the modem I'm using now, BT voyager 100, shows up as "BT voyager 100" but the edimax dosen't so I'm not sure which is which Under dial upAOL dial on demand+BT voyager
    Under LAN or High speed Internet1394 net adapter#3 Under Network Bridgelocal area con+local area con 3+Network Bridge(network bridge 2)Under VPNThe internet 2 which is the one thats connected now! Hope this makes sense
     
  6. coulterp

    coulterp

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    I'm confused now. Your Eidmax AR 6024WGA is a wireless ADSL modem/router and you have a BT voyager 100 modem connected in here somewhere too?
    Can you describe exactly what is connected to what.

    If using just the Eidmax AR 6024WGA then under "LAN or High speed Internet" you should have a "Local Area Connection" or a "Wireless Network Connection" if you were using wireless. That would be your connection to the router and hence the internet and you would not expect to see the Edimax showing up on the XP anywhere. The Network Bridges are not doing anything other than confuse the issue.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324588

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice