1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Editing Lilo

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by jscerb, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jscerb

    jscerb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    I have Mandrake 9.1, win98SE and WinXP, and am using the lilo that came with mandrake 9.1. Right now linux is the default to boot to. Is it possible to make WinXP the default?

    And can I change the names of the partitions in lilo: right now it lists my winxp partition as 'windows', can i change this to 'Window XP'?


    Thanks
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    Can you post the contents of your /etc/lilo.conf file.

    But I am sure you can figure it out on your own just by looking at the file. Just make the default whatever your lablel for Windows is.
     
  3. NameTooLong

    NameTooLong

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    325
    I'm in need of the same thing, I logged in as root, changed the default to "windows", now what? It still defaults to linux, I was told I have to reinitialize LILO or something (Mandrake 9.1).
     
  4. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    Once you make the changes in Lilo(with a text editor as root) you need to run the /sbin/lilo command for the changes to take effect.
    HTH
    lynch
     
  5. NameTooLong

    NameTooLong

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    325
    YAY!!! It works! Now I don't have to baby-sit my computer during a reboot. :D Thank you very much.
     
  6. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    YW :)
    lynch
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168096

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice