1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Electric Typewriter help!

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by Aaminee, Jun 5, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. Aaminee

Aaminee Thread Starter

hi
    I’m new to this thread - I recently bought a Smith Corona 470 for my daughter and somehow the ribbon cassette doesn’t move forward. It keeps typing in the same spot and the ribbon runs out of ink. I even bought new replacement ribbon but still the same issue. I read about an “E” clip somewhere online but it didn’t give any info on how to find/fix it.
    I would really appreciate help with fixing this issue!!
    Thx in advance

2. Sponsor

3. ekim68

ekim68

First Name:
    Mike
    The ribbon is driven by a gear on the plate that the ribbon mounts. If it's not turning it won't drive the ribbon. There are several reasons for this including not having a retainer clip at the bottom of the gear post. Normally you have to pull the carrier out to get to this and it's labor intensive.. Any typewriter techs in your area?

4. Aaminee

Aaminee Thread Starter

Thanks for the reply; not sure of any typewriter techs around here. Do you know if there’s an online resource that can guide me through it?

5. ekim68

ekim68

First Name:
    Mike
    I'll look around and in the meantime can you post a picture of the Machine to make sure I'm thinking of the same Model?

6. Aaminee

Aaminee Thread Starter

Appreciate the help!

Attached Files:

7. ekim68

ekim68

First Name:
    Mike