1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

eMachine video problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by medic17506, Sep 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. medic17506

    medic17506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    First Name:
    Brandon
    I know, I know... e-machine! It's not mine...

    anyway, the video it appears to have gone kaput, nada, gone, terminated! My question in looking inside this computer is the video card is built into they systerm on the motherboard. My question is, if I get another video card and put into an open slot will it work just fine for the video since this other one has decided to get lazy on us?

    If this will work will I need to disable the current video card that isn't working and how would I go about doing this...thanks for anyone who can shed some light on this situation.

    Medic17506
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You should disable the onboard graphics if you are going to put a new video card in.
    Usually you can disable onboard video by entering the BIOS at power up and changing the right setting e.g. Use OnBoard Video to Off. Have a look through your motherboard manual :)
     
  3. medic17506

    medic17506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Okay, here's the rest of the problem, I'm afraid I know the answer but, we'll throw it out there anyway. The integrated video is dead...bought a pci video card off the shelf at office depot, to no avail...it didn't bypass the integrated video. Checked for jumpers on the motherboard, alas, still no fix....it appears the only way to disable the integrated video is through the bios. This is a LM810E Motherboard. If the only way to disable it in the bios is through the video...and the video is dead...am I completely up a creek?
     
  4. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    I've got two of those 810 based board here that I can't get the video working. If anyone has a solution....
     
  5. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You really should try another video before going out and buying a brand new one if possible. Because you have no video does not mean its the just the video thats not working. It could be the RAM, entire motherboard, powersupply, CPU, etc.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271495

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice