eMachines EL1200-05w Reboots constantly

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AcesFull

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
9
I have a eMachines EL1200-05w that constantly reboots, and I have no idea why.

It loads up to the Windows xp loading screen, and then shuts down and reboots again.

If I can provide any information to help diagnose the problem, I will, I just need some help !
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Messages
1,705
Have you tried Safemode or Last Known Good Config? Once the XP splash screen appears tap F8 (hopefully you get get to the advanced Startup menu before it reboots).
 

AcesFull

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
9
Won't boot into safe mode, I get an advanced startup menu but it won't load any of the options. It just restarts again.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Messages
1,705
Then the only other options I know of would be to
1) Reinstall the OS
2) Run the repair from the recovery console (on the OS cd)
3) Remove the hard drive, plug it in as a secondary in another computer and run chkdsk /r
 

AcesFull

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
9
I don't have a recovery cd for the computer, but If I obtained one how would I run it if the PC shuts off before it can load anything?

Also, I received advice that told me to check the PC health status in the BIOS menu, and I am able to load this menu. The only thing that looked strange to me is that right under where it says "Shutdown Temperature 90*c/194*f" it gives a few values such as +3.3v and then to the right is has the number 3.32, but on the one that says +12v the number to the right reads only 11.70 volts. Has this ANYTHING to do with my problem?

I know I am not a computer genius, but as of this point I am completely lost.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Messages
1,705
The voltage and temps don't apply. The computer is rebooting while it's trying to load windows, so there is probably a missing or corrupt file.

If you obtained a cd, you would boot using the cd, (not the os, so it shouldn't shut down). Then in the windows installation menu, you can press r to go to the recovery console, and try the "chkdsk /r" command.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top