1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Email Client Outlook, OE or Thunderbird?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Old New Guy, Apr 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Old New Guy

Old New Guy Thread Starter

I have been using pcs for over 20 years but have always "followed the leader". My new pc has both OE and Outlook. My old PC which is wifi networked to the new one has OE, a large folder collection, five years worth of emails and a large addressbook. I am looking for suggestions for an email client and why. I have Comcast for an ISP. The new PC is a Compaq Presario P4 with 2.4 GB Mem, 200GB HD, Norton security suite.

Thanks for any help.

Old New Guy

2. fleamailman

fleamailman

First using outlook express is like saying "here is a open door(letterbox then) please place bomb inside", so most people don't even configure it now, they just go onto their server, find the place marked "mail" or "read your mail", press enter and are able to both see, store and reply to their mails on line, - a good server like google or yahoo, also stores your addresses too so that you can be anywhere and, once connected to their site, continue as if you were at home. Also, this makes life easy when your own computer goes down because then you have lost no mails at all, they are there on site still. The new email viruses too just love Outlook express because with Outlook those mails go right into your computer.

Next, I would diffinately go for almost anything other than Internet Explorer, I think you will enjoy using firefox, but there are others so it's personal prefferance here. Sorry if my English is wonky donkey, I am a goblin who finds the human world hard at times.

3. bearone2

bearone2 Banned

if it ain't broke don't fix it.