1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Email Issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by scrams, Jul 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scrams

    scrams Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Hey Peoples!

    I have jsut setup my Netgear WGR614 v7 and it is pretty good.
    BUT i can not send emails why is this?
    What would i need to do to allow sending email through Thunderbird?

    Cheers
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you have proper web access, I can't imagine the router being the issue for sending email. What makes you think it's the router?
     
  3. scrams

    scrams Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    I was thinking that it would be the router because i was sending email with out a problem before i plugged my computer into Optus cable through the Netgear router.


     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I've broken your post off into it's own thread, I just noticed that you had hijacked another thread to post your issue.

    If you remote the router and run direct to the modem, does the email start working again?
     
  5. scrams

    scrams Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    If i am connect directly into my Optus cable modem i can send emails fine.
    If i plug in my Netgear WGR614 v7 router and try send email i can not.
    I can receive them but can not send them at all.
    What can i do to fix it?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact models of the equipment please.

    The name of your ISP and country of residence.
    Make/model of the broadband modem. If dial-up, please specify.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc.)
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home SP2.

    Also, please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.


    While connected directly to the Optus modem, let's see this:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596042

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice