1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Email setup for Gmail

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by sidbub, Mar 8, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    637
    With office 13 I put in all the specs and it will not connect to the Gmail service. Tried various settings and still won't connect. Strange that I was able to configure Thunderbird to Gmail with no problem. any suggestions?
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,657
    First Name:
    David
    Office 13 is a very old program, unless you mean Office 2013, which is still a bit old.

    What settings are you entering into Outlook?
     
  3. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    637
    Office 2013/Outlook Settings:
    imap.gmail.com
    smtp.gmail.com
    Port 993 SSL
    Port 465 SSL
    Even tried port 587 but that was NG too.
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,657
    First Name:
    David
  5. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    637
    Have the whole email address entered. Gmail is imap. Everything in the Dummies link you sent I have done with no success. Error says failed to connect to server. I just don't get it.
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,657
    First Name:
    David
    Do you have "SSL" selected for both servers in the Advance tab?

    The error message is that the server has been found, but can not connect.
    Is the password correct?
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,400
    First Name:
    James
    Do you have Norton or AVG Internet Security by chance?
     
  8. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    637
    None of those. I use Webroot and paid MBAM.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1224155

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice