1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Email Spoofing or Compromised Email or ?

Discussion in 'General Security' started by B.B.Gunn, Jan 25, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. B.B.Gunn

B.B.Gunn Thread Starter

Hello,

I'm a bit new at this... any help or advice would be much appreciated!

At my club organization, one of our members received an email from another member with a request for money. That member did not write or send that email but the email address is correct and reflects our domain and domain address. However, when I set up the email accounts in the domain, I set up the forwarding mechanism so that emails that are sent to our domain address are forwarded to personal email accounts such as gmail, outlook, etc. I did not set up any email accounts (meaning nothing is stored, no inboxes etc or passwords) only addresses so any email sent to our domain address is automatically redirected and forwarded to the personal accounts. I contacted our domain hosting company and they were not much help and did not see anything suspicious and referred to the fake email as spam. So my questions are: