1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Embedding swf files into Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by El_Glyndo, Sep 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. El_Glyndo

    El_Glyndo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Hi all,

    I'm trying to embed some swf files into Excel, but I'm having a lot of trouble. I found a thread on here but that doesn't solve my question.

    I found a decent guide here but at Option 5 I come unstuck. In my Excel Shockwave object properties I don't have an option for the (Custom) field. I have the (Name) at the top, and that's it. I found another guide on the internet that stated to add the swf location to the Movie row, but I don't have that either! :mad:

    Does anyone know what I can do to add either of these (or preferably both) options to my Shockwave object properties?
     
  2. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Have you tried, Insert > Object > Create from File ?
     
  3. El_Glyndo

    El_Glyndo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    At the moment I haven't actually got the swf file on my computer. It's on a webpage so I need a way to get the .swf file from that, and then embed it. I read one guide that said you can link to the url and then embed it, so that's what I've been trying to do.

    As I haven't got either the Custom field nor the Movie field, I don't know what to do!
     
  4. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Frankly, w/o having tried to do it, I would guess that you need the swf file on your PC first, for the steps where you are getting stuck have to do with adjusting the properties of the file, and, well, if it isn't on your PC, how are you supposed to do that?
     
  5. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    You definitely need access to the file. "Getting" it from a website brings up some proprietary issues, but if the user can get the file, it's just insert object. Very simple. The only thing you can link is a hyperlink to the site URL.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754583

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice