1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

emergency motherboard change

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by knailhead, Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. knailhead

    knailhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    please help my nightmare... I recently attempted to change my computer case and in the process fried my motherboard (Abit PC-7) long story... i went out immediately and got a new one (intel d865gbf). the problem I am encountering is that now the bios is loading up and the drives are recognized in the bios, but when i boot from the windows disk it won't recognize them. this is in regards to the setup windows/repair options screen. before the problem i had 2 separate boots (one for audio work, the other for general use) and each one had a separate drive and os to load from. now nothing loads up. if i try to boot from the drives it just says "reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device" does anyone have any ideas??
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    So are you able to use the Windows CD to get to the Repair option screen?
     
  3. knailhead

    knailhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    sorry, i should have been more in depth with that. yes, i can boot off the cd, and get to the repair windows option. when selected it brings me to dos and says "the path or file specified is not valid" and brings me to c:\> when i try to do a 'dir' of the directory, it says the same thing. i type in 'map' and it tells me only the a: and d: are availible. if i go to one and try to go back to c: it says the same thing... invalid.. i'm not even able to format the drive because once in dos the drives won't register. I am basically trying to get my old boot setups back if it's possible, but it's looking more and more like it's not possible. I've tried different configurations of the cabling, jumper settings etc. to see if i can boot from one of the drives, but it's the same all around. any help or suggestions is greatly apprieciated.
     
  4. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    what os? if xp is it oem disk, retail full version, etc,
     
  5. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    if you need to format use the mfr program, but you may have to reset the bios to get the hdd to recognize, make sure the hdd is seen by the bios. then you should be able to format if you have the right kind of copy of an os disk.
     
  6. knailhead

    knailhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    i bought it through an online store when i bought all the components to build my pc, i'm pretty sure it said OEM on it. it's professional version.
     
  7. knailhead

    knailhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    mfr program? what is that? also how would i go about reseting the bios? it includes jumper caps doesn't it? thanks!!
     
  8. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Have your tried a different IDE cable or hooking up just one drive at a time?
     
  9. CarlssonMB

    CarlssonMB

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    usually a motherboard change requires a hd format and reinstall OS, luckily you have a seperate drive for your work so you dont lose it (y)
     
  10. knailhead

    knailhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    yes on both accounts... i'm not sure which step i should take next. i think i'm okay with the lost data, but i thought someone may have an idea.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324138

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice