1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

EMERGENCY!!! where are the files from my desktop after upgrading from win7 to 8??

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by gamerchick999, Feb 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gamerchick999

gamerchick999 Thread Starter

hi all,
    basically i think i've screwed up big time.
    i was running win 7 as normal editing some photos when it suddenly froze and logged me out. when i logged back in i couldn't do anything with the desktop- just wouldn't let me click on anything on there. i'm a pro photographer and needed to get to the photos on my desktop. i called up a guy out of gumtree and he came round to sort it. basically he didn't really know much. he just ignored the virus and said he'd install win8 for me and said that that would get rid of the virus, my stuff would be back and i'd have win8. after a few HOURS he finally managed to install win 8 but couldn't see my photos or programs or anything (looking in the ' windows old' folder. there's nnearly £700 pounds worth of photos on there!! (didn't get chance to back them up :()
    any ideas?

2. gamerchick999

update: started in safe mode and can see all my stuff!! there properties were set to rerad only and hidden. i unchecked these then restarted in norm mode but nothings changed.

3. Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

gamerchick999

The account is unbelievable. That you presumably paid someone and he attempted to install a new operating system without backing up OR ensuring you had backup of your valuable photographs - pictures.

When I say unbelievable, I do not doubt your account of what occurred, I mean "Did he claim to know what he was doing"

Before we start, what is the make and FULL model of the computer please