EMET detected that the SSL certificate for *.facebook.com is not trusted

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dvk01

Derek
Thread Starter
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
http://myonlinesecurity.co.uk/emet-4-0-emet-detected-ssl-certificate-facebook-com-trusted/

Facebook buttons and links are embedded in so many websites, that any user who has EMET 4.0 installed will get the alert when generally surfing the web. This alert does not mean in this particular case that there is a problem with Facebook or any hijack or divert is taking place. All this “EMET detected that the SSL certificate for *.facebook.com is not trusted” means is that the rule checking the certificates inside EMET has expired on 30 December 2013. It does not mean in this particular case that the Facebook SSL certificate has expired or that anybody is intercepting or diverting your secure SSL connection to Facebook.

There are 3 cures to stop the EMET detected that the SSL certificate for *.facebook.com is not trusted alert message:

By far Cure 1 is the safest to do. All that option 2 does is delay the warning until the new date you set.

1.Update EMET 4.0 to 4.1 by going to Microsoft EMET 4.1 download and download and install EMET 4.1. This installs over the top of EMET 4.0 and retains any specific rules and settings that you have configured yourself.

2.Open up EMET 4.0, click on TRUST ( CONFIGURE CERTIFICATE TRUST) –> Click on the Pinning Rules Tab –> Under Rule Expiration for FacebookCA you can change the rule to expire next month or later and the message will go away. You can set it to when the YahooCA rule will expire on 3/13/2014 if you like and you won’t receive the message any longer. ( this just delays the warning for a further short period of time)

3.Open up EMET 4.0, click on TRUST ( CONFIGURE CERTIFICATE TRUST) –> Click on the Protected Websites Tab –> Uncheck the box beside Facebook. ( this option is potentially unsafe, because it will remove the checking to see if your “secure” connection to Facebook has been tampered with )
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top