1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Empire Total War Problems

Discussion in 'Games' started by Daskill, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    I recently upgraded my computer to enable me to run Empire:Total War.

    While the game does run, it sometimes takes a while to do things; for instance, when I click the "End Turn" button, it takes maybe 25 seconds before it does anything, then the end of turn processing is perhaps a bit longer than it should be.

    A slightly more distressing problem is that the game occaisionally crashes, for apparently no reason at all.

    I'm running it on a Windows XP system, 2.79GHz processor, 1GB RAM, 512MB Graphics card. Could I use more RAM? Would that help?

    The other thing is, the game is installed on an external hard drive. Could that be causing problems?
     
  2. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    external drive uses usb correct? it will slow down the speed for sure but i dunno by how much.
     
  3. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Yes it uses USB. So installing it on the computer's hard drive will probably help?
     
  4. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    it doesnt hurt to try
     
  5. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    I've reinstalled it on the hard drive and there's no change in performance.
     
  6. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    wuz ur cpu and video card?
     
  7. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    CPU: Pentium 4, 2.79GHz

    Vid: ATI Radeon 3600, 512MB
     
  8. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    run the game in lowest settings and see if that helps
     
  9. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    I already am.
     
  10. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Running it in the lowest settings doesn't help. What else can I do?
     
  11. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    try update your video card driver
     
  12. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    I tried that too. It hasn't helped.
     
  13. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    how much hard drive space left?
     
  14. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    cpu gpu temp?
     
  15. Daskill

    Daskill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    4.71GB Hard drive space left.

    What does temp mean?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Empire Total Problems
  1. Pollybella
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    204
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/921016

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice