1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Enabled Belkin WPA-PSK encryption Problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jezza81, Sep 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jezza81

    jezza81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    After enabling the WPA-PSK encryption and giving a nice long Password, I can not log on to the now protected network. I think it accepts the password, but it trys to aquire network settings, and fails after a while of trying. What is it that i must do? Im new to Wireless configurations. Thanks heaps
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.


    Make/model of the router (if any).
    If wireless, encryption used, (WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc.)
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP2, Vista, etc.


    I'd also like to see this:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. jezza81

    jezza81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I have a dell inspiron 6000, windows XP home edition SP2, Virgin media modem, and;

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Cass
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-22-E0-7D-37

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-CE-BD-69-14
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.77
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 09 September 2007 23:24:31
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10 September 2007 23:24:31

    This laptop can still connect to the internet wirelessly (a friends), it just wont access the my router properly. It connects with limited or no connectivity.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    You got a good IP configuration, so the passphrase you used is correct. Please open a Command Window and try these pings; tell us for each whether you get 4 Replies or all packets lost.

    ping 192.168.1.254
    ping 66.94.234.13
    ping yahoo.com
     
  5. jezza81

    jezza81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    There was no responce from pinging. all packages were lost. May the router have to be completely reconfigured? is there no way to access 192.168.2.1 outside of the specific router?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    Why are you asking, "is there no way to access 192.168.2.1 outside of the specific router?"? And what do you mean? Your router's address is the Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254.

    The inability to ping it indicates a 3rd party firewall (internet security) blocking.
     
  7. jezza81

    jezza81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Ok. but there is only on firewall that I use, but the problem is not due to that. Its still just saying limited connectivity. What should i do? Is there a way to reset the router, or how can i get to the settings with out a web based interface, maybe to update firmware?
     
  8. jezza81

    jezza81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Ive reset the router and now its all fine. Thanks guys.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Enabled Belkin encryption
  1. cchernandezg
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    309
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/621777

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice