Enabling SATA ports

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
Have an HP Pavilion 620 computer that uses a A7V8X-LA mobo. Noticed that the board has two SATA connectors that were not operational. I went into the BIOS to see if they could be enabled there, but there was no reference anywhere to SATA, so I couldn't enable them.

I did an internet lookup of the BIOS and found a reference to enabling SATA ports in the BIOS under the ADVANCED tab. Unfortunately the BIOS seems to be different on my machine the SATA enable feature is missing.

So far I have not found a BIOS update that provides this feature. Is it a lost cause?
 

Oddba11

Jim
It's My Birthday!
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,336
As it's an OEM PC, they tend to lock down their BIOS. If it's not enabled by default, there is likely a reason. So a new/hacked BIOS likely won't make any difference. It's not often that fully functional hardware is just disabled in the BIOS. They typically don't pay for hardware that then isn't used (ie: SATA controller and ports), as the motherboard would be cheaper to simply order it without those parts. So most likely, all of the necessary hardware isn't on the motherboard.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
It seems unlikely that ports on the board would not be working. How have you tested them? Have you provided power to whatever you used to test them?
 

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
Thanks to both of you for your interest and comments.

Elvindil:
Yes, I tested them by connecting a SATA drive that had worked in another computer.

Oddba11:
There is no reference to SATA in the BIOS, so your points seem to explain much of what I found.
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
It looks like the third and fourth IDE controllers are for the sata
connectors in IDE emulation mode.
Make sure those are enabled.
For that board,if you are using sata 2 drives,you may need to set a jumper on the drives
for sata one compatability.
With that old of a board,you may run into a drive size limitation also.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Thanks to both of you for your interest and comments.

Elvindil:
Yes, I tested them by connecting a SATA drive that had worked in another computer.

Oddba11:
There is no reference to SATA in the BIOS, so your points seem to explain much of what I found.
OK, so you know that the ports don't work with the drives connected why? Because you couldn't feel them spin, because they didn't show in Device Manager or Disk Management, or what?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top