1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Enabling WEP on DI-524

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Static319, Jul 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Static319

    Static319 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Hello everyone, I have a D-Link DI-524 wireless router, and I have trouble enabling WEP security. I've done it before, but with the help of D-Link customer support service.
    I've done a lot of research on this, but something is wrong, either the info im looking at is for another DI router, and my router isn't there, or the info just doesnt seem right.
    Thanks a lot for reading.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    I suggest you use WPA-PSK unless you have some device that only supports WEP.

    Anyhow, where specifically are you running into trouble?
     
  3. Static319

    Static319 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Well, I think SSID is what I want my wireless connection name to be, and Key 1 is where I put in my Password. I type in my username that I want to use, and type in a password in the Key 1 tab. When I do that, It doesn't allow me to click accept, so I'm stuck there. Here's a pic:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    It needs to be in Hex.

    And as Terry said. use WPA if all your devices support. Much easier to setup.
     
  5. Static319

    Static319 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    I have no idea how to setup WPA :(. What do you mean it needs to be in hex?
    I've dont this in WEP before and it was pretty easy, but for some weird reason I can't make it work.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Key1 (and the other keys if you want to use them) are hexidecimal. Ten hex digits for 64-bit WEP and 26 hex digits for 128-bit WEP. Examples: 1fade2dead; 0123456789abcdefbeadcafe26
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    If you want to use a normal passphrase for your wireless encryption, you will need to use WPA. Trust me on this. WPA is 100% easier to setup and safer to use.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Click on that down arrow just to the right of "WEP" and select WPA or WPA-PSK. You then use any ol' passphrase you want to; e.g., 4 WPA security use 20+ ABCs & numb3rs
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Sorry to be such an echo, Squashman. You're just typing or thinking faster! :)
     
  10. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    You and Johnwill are the Network experts. I just put my two cents in.
     
  11. Static319

    Static319 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    This is WPA:
    [​IMG]
    This is WPA-PSK:
    [​IMG]

    WPA-PSK seems a lot more easier, is that the one I should use? Just type in my SSID and my the password, then I'm good to go?
     
  12. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Put in a 20 character passphrase the Passphrase and Confirm passphrase boxes. If you want to change the SSID name. feel free to do so, I don't bother changing mine. Who really cares.
     
  13. Static319

    Static319 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    How come for the passphrase, I can't choose all letters? Or are there certain restrictions to which letters/numbers I can use?
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Yes, WPA-PSK. Nobody has reported breaking WPA with a passphrase of at least 20 letters and numbers. People can break WPA with a dictionary attack if only letters are used. You don't like my example? :(

    Squashman, "Who really cares." I do! I think it looks stupid to have a SSID of 'default' or 'Netgear,' etc. Sorry, just my opinion. :)
     
  15. Static319

    Static319 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Ah I thought you means use 20+ ABC's/#'s for WPA, not WPA-PSK.
    GAH! I just used 18 letters/2 #'s and It wont allow me to click on Apply :(
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487032