1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Endless Explorer boxes

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ScarletDrago, Oct 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ScarletDrago

    ScarletDrago Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    My friend uses ME and has a DSL connection. Whenever she turns on her computer, explorer boxes start opening up automatically and just keep starting new ones until her computer locks up. Gateway told her she had the wrong settings, but would not tell her what settings were wrong or how to correct it. Any ideas please?
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    In the order of appearance -

    First you must get a firewall downloaded, if you don't already have a software or hardware firewall installed/running, like free Sygate from http://download.com - type, sygate, in the Search box and press Enter.

    Then do a on-line virus scan (they're not using Mcaffe are they?) at http://housecall.trendmicro.com If they are using Mcaffee and have not recently paid for a subscription to download new virus definitions, say so and I'll help, it's Bogus-ware

    Get, install, update and run free Ad-aware (and its HexDump plug-in) from http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

    For Internet Explorer (anti-popups like you describe) get Smart Popup Killer from http://www.firstnetsoft.com You'll love it. As with the rest above, double-click the downloaded program icon to start the install.

    For questions or concerns please reply to this.
     
  3. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    And if your not able to do those things because it locks up at startup before you can do anything, try this to hopefully eliminate the Explorer windows so you can do what Styxx suggested.

    Click on Start>Run, key in Msconfig and press enter. Click on the Startup tab and remove the check mark next to "Load Startup Programs" and click on Apply. Follow the prompts to restart.
     
  4. ScarletDrago

    ScarletDrago Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks. I will help her try this over the weekend and get back to you with the results. btw - she does not have McAffee but has already tried the virus scan at housecall.
     
  5. ScarletDrago

    ScarletDrago Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Hmmm. I never got back to you. The start button on her computer is broken, so now she is permanently "offline." Thanks for the suggestions.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171077

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice