1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Enter Network Password - how do I delete?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by geezerview, Feb 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. geezerview

    geezerview Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    On starting up my computer, I now get a message that says:
    "Enter your name for Microsoft Networking"
    Below that is User Name - "Preferred Customer"
    and below that is Password - blank.
    I have simply clicked the "Cancel" button to get past this, but until today, I have never had this pop up message.
    How do I get rid of it? I don't intent to use Networking.
    This all happened after I downloaded an upgrade to Adobe Acrobat Reader.
    I tried System Restore but that didn't work.
     
  2. blin

    blin

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    272
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    A lot of the solution depends on what operating system you have.
     
  4. geezerview

    geezerview Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks, Bob Lin, for the auto-logon info. I will try some of the suggestions.
    Reply to Bob Cerelli, I'm running Windows Me.
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
  6. geezerview

    geezerview Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    OK, I'm back again with the same question. The Howtonetworking link didn't really help me, or maybe it was too technical for me. There was some advice about editing the Registry. I don't know where to start with this.
    This dialogue box problem might also have started because I have just begun ADSL service.
    Any and all advice is welcome.
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    And what about the two suggestions I just made?
     
  8. geezerview

    geezerview Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Bob,
    I first tried to find TweakUI on Microsoft downloads but didn't find it. Then, you supplied the link.
    However, I changed the logon to Windows Logon instead of "Client for Microsoft Networks" and that solved the problem.
    Thanks for your generous advice and help.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328982

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice