1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Entering College

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by Kramer55, Jul 17, 2006.

Advertisement
  1. Kramer55

Kramer55 Thread Starter

In the fall, I will be attending Michigan State University for Computer Engineering. I am a good student, and, for the most part, enjoy learning and studying. I am somewhat of a quiet kid, but I am starting to become quite social.

However, I am concerned with the amount of partying and drinking that is involved in campus life. I never drank in high school, and I plan not to drink in college either. However, as I have quite frequently heard, college seems to change people.

I was curious if anyone on these boards has been in a similar situation and how they have dealt with the issue. Or if anyone has any general advice for college, I would appreciate that as well.

Thank you.

2. JEBWrench

JEBWrench

You will be tempted. Decide, however, if you want to stick to those principals, or if you want to experiment.

There will be people there who don't want to drink and party. Meet people in your classes before and after classes - you'll find a lot of different people.

Another good way to not lose focus is to get involved - student government, paper, various clubs and groups.

Keep in mind that there will be a lot of people just like you there, and if you stick to being yourself, you'll get along just fine.

Don't hang around with people who want to change you, if you don't want to change.

If you want to go out, go out every now and again, just to relax. Find some social outings you enjoy. You'll meet a lot of people like that.

Maybe you like poetry slams, coffee houses, whatever. You'll find some like that on campus if you look. Once again, clubs and groups are a great source of like-minded people.