1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Entry Level Help Desk Interviews

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Wanabeatekee, Jun 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wanabeatekee

Wanabeatekee Thread Starter

Does anyone know what questions are typically asked at help desk interviews and, if the position is entry level, how deep are they expecting answers to be? I have an interview in a couple days and I would like to know how to prepare for it.

Thanks for your help!

2. gotrootdude

gotrootdude

When I moved cross country, from California to SC, I tried to get a job with a local computer company. Without going into details, my background is enormously technical and broad in span. The first question I was asked was if I had ever done anything technical? I was so amazed to be asked that given my background on my resume, that I just turned around and walked out. A few weeks later I started my own company in the area.

3. pronute

pronute

click this link and see what you will be getting into they are actual help desk conversations link

4. Wanabeatekee

Boy, everyone sure has different experiences in this arena!

If I could reiterate though.... I'm looking to find out what questions they ask at entry level help desk position interviews. Are they looking for good customer support skills, or are they looking for strong technical skills - I need to know how far entry level people troubleshoot someone over the phone. From what I see and hear, asking them to open the case and see if the cables are all connected is NOT a good idea!