err. message: please insert bootable media from floppy

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wheeler420

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
9
i am trying to start a computer that hasn't been used for awhile it is using windows 98 i got it from my cousins dad and he didn't give me any of the disks. and when i turn it on it sais please insert bootable media in appropriate drive and i downloaded a boot disk for it from www.bootdisks.com and i inserted it in and it still didn't do anything it just keeps repeating itself. i don't think the floppydrive is working because when i press a key the light on the floppy drive doesn't come on. i pressed f1 after the system memory check and that doesn't help does anyone know how to get the floppy to work again or if i need to boot from a dos disk or what also my cd rom drive isn't working either.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome.

When you downloaded the boot disk file, you didn't just save it to the floppy disk did you? If so, you can't do that, it must be double clicked on and executed to create the boot disk.

Also in the bios setup, can you check to be sure 1) the hard drive appears, and 2) the floppy is the first boot device?
 

wheeler420

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
9
i went to the icon in my download files and automatically it sais to insert floppy into drive A: and i did and it wrote to the disk so the files must be on there. but the main problem is that it does recognize drive A: on my old computer. but it won't read from it the lights on the drive come on. but they stay on and they don't blink as if it was reading from it do. you know how to get it to read from the driive.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Light staying on - floppy drive, usually means cable to floppy is backwards.....in the bios setup, you have a: as the first boot device?
 

wheeler420

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
9
the floppy doesn't come on if i insert the cable the other way. it's suppose to be towards the power right. i pressed f1 after system memory check. and put the floppy as the first boot device. is that even the bios setting. but it still doesn't recognize the floppy in the disk it's as if it doesn't even try to check because when i put a disk in and press a button. it just sais the same thing over again like it didn't even check for a bootable media. i don't know if it could be that i have a old floppy drive the 5.25 drive connected to. do you think that could be something.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Check again in the bios setup....as I recall some of those older computers with the dual floppy drives, you have to make a choice to boot to a: or b: or top or bottom.......it's been a long time, but I do remember there were some differences.
 

wheeler420

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
9
there is no option to choose between two different floppy drives. it's just that it doesn't try to read any drive when i insert a floppy disk. it just goes strait to the floppy do you know any sites that tells information on error messages for boot up of windows 98
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top