1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

error 0xc000007b

Discussion in 'Games' started by DFG3, Oct 10, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. DFG3

    DFG3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I've tried ever single solution to this error that I have found online, however I am still receiving this message. I recently got a new computer and this problem started popping up. I tried running the same games on my old computer and it worked fine, but it still won't work on my new computer. Please help?
    I noticed I did not notice to post the DXDiag report. Is this still needed?
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  2. Sponsor

  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    18,931
    1. Which games
    2.
    What have you tried - clearly it is no use us suggesting what has already been tried
    3. What OS is on the new computer
    4. What OS is on the old computer

    Brevity is good but your post lacks sufficient detail to assist
    Please provide the answers to the questions above
     
  4. DFG3

    DFG3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    1. So far I have only tried 6 games, all but one of which were Touhou. Touhou 10.5/12.3 worked, however, 13.5, 14.5 and 16 are not working even when I tried transferring the files directly from my other computer. I also tried running Age of Empires 2 but it gave out a different error; 0xc0000022.

    2. I can try recalling everything I've done but I could be forgetting something.
    Updating DirectX
    Reinstalling the latest Visual C++
    Fixing .net framework (I found something that hinted that this was the probable cause, but didn't work)
    Running in compatibility mode for ever windows available
    Running as administrator
    Doing the System File Checker in command prompt
    Like I said, that could be everything, but I may be missing something

    3/4. The OS of both computers is windows 10
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    18,931
    Before we go any further and please do NOT be annoyed
    Most Touhou downloads are cracked
    Genuine or from one of the many cracked sites please
     
  6. DFG3

    DFG3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    No, I totally understand. I got a cracked version. If I could get a genuine copy I would.
    I assumed since I had the same download on my other computer that this wouldn't have been a factor.
    Since I didn't think this would be a factor, and because it appears to not be working on non-cracked games, i.e. Age of Empires 2, I also assumed that support would be allowed
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    18,931
    I understand
    I had in fact never heard of the Touhou games and it was only when searching to find what they were that I discovered the extreme lack of their availability as apparently ZUN has chosen only to sell to a very limited market
    https://www.reddit.com/r/touhou/comments/2njuc5/why_do_people_think_its_ok_to_pirate_touhou/


    Lets try another line of approach is the Age of Empires - I thought the Windows 10 edition was not released until 19 Oct
    Any other version is hit and miss on 10
    https://forums.ageofempires.com/discussion/704/installing-the-original-aoe-games-on-a-windows-10-pc

    NEW version for 10
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/sto...tive-edition/9n2kmdvlk85d#system-requirements

    To explain the position to you and again I fully accept the situation regarding Touhou
    One of the rules of this site is
    Therefore unfortunately I cannot help with TOUHOU

    Presuming that AOE is genuine and as on the link above - running original AOE on 10

    The only suggestion I can make is that often the AV stops processes - apps etc and therefore games which it does not like
    If the same AV is in use on both computers then obviously it is not that

    Why it works on one and not the other - If the above does not apply - are both the same latest versions 1703
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/release-info.aspx

    If so and there are no obvious differences try installing clean boot for AOE
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/929135/how-to-perform-a-clean-boot-in-windows
     
    DFG3 likes this.
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    18,931
    I have signed off - goodnight
    Good luck with AOE
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1197704