Error #1834 Corrupt Image File on Compaq 5240 HELP PLEASE!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rhinestones

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2000
Messages
189
I am trying to help a friend who's computer icons got corrupted. He tried to do a System Restore from the Compaq Restore disk that came with the computer thinking it would restore his icons (Compaq 5240), Windows 98. Upon starting the CD restore, he received an error message that reads - "Error 1834 Image File does not contain the image specified." I tried using Norton Ghost, copied onto CD from my computer, but the A drive takes over and I can't use the CD Rom, though the computer is reading the CD Rom. Instructions from Symantec tell you to type in the CD Rom path (Drive Letter) then - "Program Files\Ghost\Ghostexp.exe - ignore index". I do this, but the computer is NOT reading the CD Rom, since the A drive takes over first. PLEASE help, thank you!
Rhinestones
 

rhinestones

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2000
Messages
189
Hi Aaron, and thank you very much for your reply. I am unable to open windows, so can you tell me how I can delete this file while in dos mode? For instance, should I type in C:\delete windows\iconcache.db? Thanks!
Rhinestones
 
Joined
May 8, 2003
Messages
485
"DEL c:\windows\iconcache.db"

Unable to open Windows? Did the CD restore corrupt or delete it?
 

rhinestones

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2000
Messages
189
It's hard to tell for sure if it was the Restore CD that made me unable to boot windows. The Restore CD went just so far and then the error message popped up. It could be the CD. I will try your suggestion and let you know the outcome. Thanks again,
Rhinestones
 

rhinestones

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2000
Messages
189
Hello again Aaron. I tried your suggestion to no avail. I keep getting "Invalid Path" or other error messages. It seems I cannot access the C drive. If you have any other suggestions, I sure would welcome them.
Rhinestones
 

rhinestones

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2000
Messages
189
I've downloaded the Emergency Disk and will try that. Nova Wind, as far as making the CD Rom boot first, I'm not sure how to do that. Thanks also Aaron for the number to Compaq. We'll keep forging ahead, I'm determined to straighten this out! Thanks!
Rhinestones:eek:
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
61
Go into BIOS (Press F1 or F10 during the Compaq boot-up screen for setup) and change the boot order to load CD Rom first. Save and Quit.

Good Luck
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top