1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error 5 Glue Part 1 and 2

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by andyman1963, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. andyman1963

    andyman1963 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    hi guys.my mate who is a member has a problem.pc (packard bell 4 months old dual processor) crashed..tried to reboot using master dvd and he gets an message...Error 5 Glue Part 1 and 2 appeared just after the master dvd was read and after that there was a black screen saying c:/>. now the pc does not load up any further than the first black screen and he still gets this error every time he trys to reinstall xp please help if u know any way of fixing this
     
  2. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,
    Looks like its some P.Bell proprietry garbage,
    probably the start up diskettes that they want you to make
    when you first use the machine.


    ******************
    from:
    http://forums.pcw.co.uk/thread.jspa?forumID=10&threadID=35192

    thanks for the reply m8 a glue error is an error code that you get with packard bell pc when you try to do a back to factory settings on your pc i cant boot from cd because i have to use pak bells red floppy disk it works but when it asks for disk 1 it says glue error 5

    ******************

    Dunno how you would get on trying to get them now.
    Maybe a total re-install is a possibility,
    see what others say before doing anything.

    John :)
     
  3. BrotherPain

    BrotherPain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Hello!

    Believe itor not I've jsut been learning how to fix this. You need to re tattoo the DMI. I work for "The Tech Guys" in England. If you give me your serial number for the computer and the part number on the disk I should be able to help you through it. I know that sounds a bit dodgy, so 'll tell you the way it's done so hopefully you can trust me.

    When you get the C: prompt type q: then enter
    then type CD DRIVERS and enter
    then type TATTOO/INTHSPRETEST and enter
    then type TATTOO/CREATEDMIFROMHS and enter
    then type CD.. and enter
    then type EXTHS/RESTORE

    now for the next piece of info you'll need to give me your seriel number and the number on the diskette or cd or dvd or whatever because I can use a bit of software that recalls all the details you need to make the Tattos match on all parts of your system.

    Anyway, I hope this helps.

    You can find out your seriel number on either the back of your PC or in a program called snapsys and it should tell you in there I think.

    Hope this helps so far!
     
  4. andyman1963

    andyman1963 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    thanks for the reply.fault now fixed by a friend who used f11 to boot from cd.this info came from pak bell
     
  5. Zeanon

    Zeanon

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Im having the same problem with the restore disks simply cannot get them to run. Have tried the F10 and F11 during boot with no success

    The only thing thats changed on the PC is the hard drive, as the old one failed and is unusable. If anyone has a workaround for this i would be grateful of the solution, cannot find anything that works on the packard bell website.

    Thanks in advance


    Zeanon
     
  6. grandma77

    grandma77

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,153
    Maybe you should email BrotherPain who posted a couple of posts above this one.
     
  7. BLAIRMAN

    BLAIRMAN

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3
     
  8. BLAIRMAN

    BLAIRMAN

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Can you help got so far but fell at the last fence here's some numbers for you
    409502040239
    7025720301
     
  9. BLAIRMAN

    BLAIRMAN

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3
     
  10. Hijab

    Hijab

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I need help...:(
     
  11. Wendy1962

    Wendy1962

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Hi Ihave the same glue error on my laptop
    Disc number 7404210201, SN 614600070235
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Error Glue Part
  1. inger245
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    132
  2. alanh01
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    545
  3. thp83
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    836
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/535853

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice