1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error code 0x80004005

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by theillogicaldan, Dec 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. theillogicaldan

    theillogicaldan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    When I try to burn the Windows 8 developers build onto a disk I get error code 0x80004005.
    Any Idea how to fix this?
     
  2. ajkane

    ajkane

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    829
  3. theillogicaldan

    theillogicaldan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    I got this when I tried using that.

    [​IMG]


    Meh, I'm going to try it on a different computer now.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. ajkane

    ajkane

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    829
    Ya, that looks like a problem with the drive itself, but I may be wrong.
     
  5. jakey8

    jakey8 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    344
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,191
    Try re-dowmloading the Image again from Microsoft. It may be that the download you did got corrupt in some way. I used the Image Burning feature Windows 7 and it worked perfectly.
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,894
    try different discs
    if you are using dvd+r then try DVD -R or vice versa

    Despite the burners being allegedly compatible with both +R & -R I find that only -R work well in my W7 using the inbuilt iso burner

    I have never been able to get large DVDs ( over 2.9gb) burned under XP in ISO format even using nero or any other software

    the other problem can be lack of memory, so do a clean boot & try burning then
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,191
    It is odd, I only use DVD +R dics, because with my Lite-on burners the -R discs are the only ones I burn coasters with. Though when I had an HP DVD Burner it would screw up with +R discs more often than -R discs.In Windows 7 I have no problems with +R discs no matter what program I use for burning. Though with XP I could never get a disc of any kind to burn, CD or DVD unless I used Nero.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1033464