1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error Code: 0x800700c1 Windows XP Home

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by deebo2002, Dec 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deebo2002

    deebo2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    After installing the New Norton Security Suite my computer was working great. But after I tried to reboot, I got this message:

    [Windows Product Activation]
    A problem is preventing windows from accurately checking the license for this computer.
    Error Code: 0x800700c1

    I can't log in. I only can boot up in Safe Mode. I can't boot up with Safe Mode with networking, so no internet can be used. I don't have the reinstall disk. But the I386 file is on there. Tried to do a sfc /scannow, but I got this error code: 0x000006ba. When I reboot in normal mode I get another error message: Unable to log you on because of an account restriction. Tried to remove Norton in safe mode but it won't let me. Tried to do a system restore, and it gives me this message: System Restore is not able to protect your computer. Please restart your computer, and then run System Restore again. I called Norton, Microsoft, and Toshiba, and they all wouldn't help unless I paid them $40-$60. And they didn't even know if they could help me. Soooo, I need your help Guys & Gals!!! Just let me know what I should do, and I'll do it.
     
  2. Irukku

    Irukku

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Dude, you got pwned bad by Norton's firewall :(. The best to do is reinstall your O.S. and never touch Norton again. The alternative I would try is plugging your hard drive to another computer and removing Norton's folder, but I'm not sure if it would work.
     
  3. deebo2002

    deebo2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    what are the steps to plugging my hard drive to another computer and removing Norton folder??
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Error Code 0x800700c1
  1. thp83
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    485
  2. ehbowen
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    691
  3. Cvenegas8
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    586
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971252

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice