1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error code 0xc0000006 on start up

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by emperor01, Dec 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. emperor01

    emperor01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Computer info

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Basic, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2060 @ 1.60GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 14 Stepping 12
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1013 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 945GM Express Chipset Family, 224 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 63981 MB, Free - 19766 MB; D: Total - 10239 MB, Free - 6450 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0KD882
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    I cant get Windows explorer.exe to open up, keeps giving me error code oxc0000006, This started about 3 days ago now, and tried virus cleaning from some early posts I did see here.

    Can someone help me please, sorry im an idiot when it comes to these things:eek:
     
  2. UNleash

    UNleash

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Have you tried a sytem restore? It helped me when none of my .exe files were working. Just restore it to a point when it was working. Try opening system restore as an administrator (right click it) if it can't be opened normally.
     
  3. emperor01

    emperor01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    It will not let me open system restore or the admin file period :(
     
  4. UNleash

    UNleash

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Try opening it up on command prompt.

    1) Shut down your computer
    2) Turn it on and keep pressing the F8 key until a window pops up. Scroll down to Start Windows with command prompt and hit enter. Then when you log in you should see the command prompt box open on your desktop.
    3) Type in " rstrui.exe" in the command prompt and hit enter. System Restore should open from there.
     
  5. emperor01

    emperor01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Bud! Followed your instructions and restored system back 10 days but still did not work, getting same error message
     
  6. UNleash

    UNleash

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Hmmm....try restrarting and pressing F8 again and there should be an option that lets u scan for viruses or something like that. It might be worth a shot.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031284

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice