1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error Code 8007307B

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Larrylowtech, Jan 4, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    I'm trying to install Windows Updates and the automatic update seems to have stopped working.

    When I try to check for updates it says I need the Windows Update Installer Tool.
    I have downloaded this several times but always get the above error code.

    I also ran the Windows Troubleshooter.
    It found and fixed several problems but not this one

    There seems to have been only a couple threads previously.
    I tried their recommendations but that didn't fix the problem.

    One looked promising until they said they'd fix the issues for $70.

    I an using AVG Free antivirus on that computer.
    Would that have anything to do with this?

    Thank you, as always
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,354
    First Name:
    Derek
  3. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Yes, I did. Several times, actually
    Thank you
     
  4. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
  5. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    I think I tried that but will try again.

    Tried to run the sfc /scannow tool but it needs to be run as an admin.
    I thought I was an admin.
    It's my wife's computer

    This was part of the solution offered above
     
  6. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    When you get to the command prompt, right click and click run as administrator. Glad to see you got it running.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,751
    First Name:
    Frank
    Have you been using its file/registry cleaner/tuneup/optimizer feature?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Not with AVG.
    I do run ccleaner.

    I may havemisspoke, btw, in my reply to dvk01.

    I ran a different tool from Microsoft.
    Down loading the system update readiness tool now.
    Thought I did before but this one seems to be taking a long time to dl and the other times pretty quick
     
  9. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    System Update Readiness Tool did not work.
    Still getting the same error code
     
  10. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,604
    what update is giving you issues?
     
  11. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    I can't check for or get Windows updates.

    The machine was set up for automatic updates but, somehow, that stopped working.

    Nothing in the settings changed
     
  12. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,604
    what error do you get checking?
     
  13. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    8007370b

    My thread title is wrong
     
  14. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,604
    is the date and time accurate on your machine?
     
  15. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Yes it is
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1140570

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice