Error Code 8007307B

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Larrylowtech

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
Messages
530
I'm trying to install Windows Updates and the automatic update seems to have stopped working.

When I try to check for updates it says I need the Windows Update Installer Tool.
I have downloaded this several times but always get the above error code.

I also ran the Windows Troubleshooter.
It found and fixed several problems but not this one

There seems to have been only a couple threads previously.
I tried their recommendations but that didn't fix the problem.

One looked promising until they said they'd fix the issues for $70.

I an using AVG Free antivirus on that computer.
Would that have anything to do with this?

Thank you, as always
 

Larrylowtech

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
Messages
530
I think I tried that but will try again.

Tried to run the sfc /scannow tool but it needs to be run as an admin.
I thought I was an admin.
It's my wife's computer

This was part of the solution offered above
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
When you get to the command prompt, right click and click run as administrator. Glad to see you got it running.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
I an using AVG Free antivirus on that computer.
Would that have anything to do with this?
Have you been using its file/registry cleaner/tuneup/optimizer feature?

---------------------------------------------------------
 

Larrylowtech

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
Messages
530
Not with AVG.
I do run ccleaner.

I may havemisspoke, btw, in my reply to dvk01.

I ran a different tool from Microsoft.
Down loading the system update readiness tool now.
Thought I did before but this one seems to be taking a long time to dl and the other times pretty quick
 

Larrylowtech

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
Messages
530
I can't check for or get Windows updates.

The machine was set up for automatic updates but, somehow, that stopped working.

Nothing in the settings changed
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top