Error in OE5

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

goinkrzee

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
2
I am using OE5 and sometimes I can receive email (I now have 557 new ones) but AS SOON as I click on an email this pops up :
MSIMN This program has performed an illegal act and will shut down. In the details: Invalid page fault in module MSOERT2.DLL at 0167:79ef5358.
As soon as I click on the CLOSE button OE5 closes too.
How do I fix this and please be simple?!
Thanks
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hi goinkrzee

Welcome to Tech Support Guy Forums!

I am not finding anything on that specific error. :(


  • Try a few maintenance steps to see if that helps.

    Check this setting in Outlook Express:
    Tools > Options > Maintenance tab,
    if there, remove the check mark for Compact messages in the background
    this is a default setting that can cause corruption in your .dbx files.

    If you have more than one Identity, check each Identity to ensure this process has been disabled.



  • Keep your Inbox *empty*, move messages you want to keep to folders of your own creation in Outlook Express.



  • Outlook Express is probably due for some maintenance.
    Close all windows.
    Open Outlook Express
    File > Work Offline
    Click on the Local Folders folder
    File > Folder > Compact All Folders
    Walk away from the computer until this process is complete.
    Avoid starting this process if the possibility of a power outage is imminent such as a thunderstorm in progress.

    Should the compaction process ever be interrupted, restart it before accessing any folders and allow it to finish.


Let us know if that helps or not.
Have you considered upgrading to Internet Explorer and Outlook Express 6?
 

goinkrzee

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
2
Sorry. I tried your suggestion and now I'm back to as soon as I try to open OE the MSIMN message pops up.
Any more suggestions? Buy a new computer, shoot the old one?
I'm willing to try most anything at this point.
Thanks
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Are you using Windows 98 First Edition or Second Edition?

Another step you can try,

Start Outlook Express, and see if you can create a new Identity before an error message occurs. (Avoid opening any messages).

In Outlook Express,
File > Identities > Add New Identity
Name the Identity
Click on Yes when asked if you want to switch to the new Identity.
Cancel out of the Internet Connection Wizard when it appears.

Tweak your New Identity:
Check this setting in Outlook Express:
Tools > Options > Maintenance tab,
if there, remove the check mark for Compact messages in the background
this is a default setting that can cause corruption in your .dbx files.

Tools > Options > General tab,
If you prefer Messenger to not start with Outlook Express,
uncheck: Automatically log on to Windows Messenger
Apply, OK to save and close.

View > Layout...
Uncheck: Contacts
Apply, OK to save and close.


If you managed to get that far without any errors,
Close Outlook Express, then restart it, if the Old Identity is loaded switch over to the new Identity.
File > Switch Identities
Select the New Identity.
Click Log Off Identity

Recreate your E-mail account in the New Identity.
Try a Send/Receive, open a message to see if you get the same error message.

Let us know what happens.

At the very least, that computer would be good for experimenting... :eek: :p
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Edit to this:
EAFiedler said:
If you managed to get that far without any errors,
Close Outlook Express, then restart it, if the Old Identity is loaded switch over to the new Identity.
File > Switch Identities
Select the New Identity.
Click Log Off Identity
Should be:
Select the New Identity.
Click OK


It appears I missed the part about no longer being able to open Outlook Express as the error appears immediately. :(

Have you been able to resolve this yet?

Let us know.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top