1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error in Winword.Exe

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by salty, Dec 2, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. salty

    salty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1
    Each time I try to launch Word 2000 I get the following message:

    Error in Winword.exe. and then suggests I restart the computer.

    I've restarted the computer but keep getting into the above loop. Please can someone help me solve the problem.
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Welcome to TSG salty. Since Word is an Office program, you will probably get the best advice for this in the Office and Business applications Forum, so I'm going to move it there.

    In the mean time you might want to have a look through this Word 2000 troubleshooter:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q236319
     
  3. ich

    ich

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 1999
    Messages:
    403
    Sounds like the executable for Word got corrupted. I'd reinstall it. If that's not possible, try copying Winword.exe from another computer that is running the exact same version (patch level will be important also.) The file's over 8 MB, so you'll have to grab it across a network or use a CDR or Zip disk.
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I'd start by repairing Office. This will restore missing files, and re-register Office dll's:

    Do this:

    Method 1
    On the Help menu in any Office program, click Detect and Repair.

    Click Start.

    To restore program shortcuts to the Windows Start menu, make sure the Restore my shortcuts while repairing check box is selected.


    Method 2
    Double-click Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel.

    Double-click the Office 2000 entry listed in the Add/Remove Programs dialog box.

    Click Repair Office.
    Click either Repair errors in my Office installation, and then click Finish.

    Be sure to select the Restore my shortcuts check box again.

    Good luck,
     
  5. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Terrific to see you, ich!!!!


    salty: Do the easy step first. Find the file called normal.dot on your hard drive and rename it to abnormal.dot.

    If that doesn't work, try Tony's response.
     
  6. ich

    ich

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 1999
    Messages:
    403
    Terrific to be seen!

    I guess I've lost the knack a little bit - I focused on "what if they don't have the CD?" and completely forgot how messed up Word can be about normal.dot being corrupted. *Sigh* the price you pay for being too busy to show up at TSG for an extended period of time...

    KT
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60434

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice