1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error message: _except_handler4_common

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by user204, May 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. user204

    user204 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    After using the recovery disc and re-installing the programs on my computer, my Photoshop CS5 wouldn't work.
    I get this error message: The procedure entry point _except_handler4_common could not be located in the dynamic link library msvcrt.dll

    Before this, I have no problem with using Photoshop CS5. In fact I never had a problem like this before.

    I already downloaded msvcrt.dll and extracted to Windows/system32 and rebooted, but it's still the same. I checked the net for solutions and the most common one is that they think this problem is caused by dwmapi.dll so they advised to delete it, but that's not the case in mine. Some people said I should updgrade and install latest updates, so I tried that too. I was using XP SP1, so I upgraded to SP2 but I get the same error message.
    Then I upgraded to SP3, still getting the error message.

    All my work is on Photoshop and I am just tired and scared it wont work on my PC anymore :(
    Please guys, any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. BPCS

    BPCS

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    I'd uninstall photoshop and reinstall it. The problem appears to be with photoshop itself so there's not to much you can do but work with it. Have you tried contacting adobe about the problem?
     
  3. user204

    user204 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I tried but all they tell me is to update my system first. I just updated to SP3 today so... I'll try to uninstall/reinstall it, but like I said I never had this problem before.
    Could it be because I did a recovery?
     
  4. user204

    user204 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    And btw just now, when I tried to download the flash player plug-in for my browser (Opera), the same error message appeared.
     
  5. BPCS

    BPCS

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    May be windows problem? You might try sfc /scannow from the command prompt and see if it finds any corrupt or missing windows system files.
     
  6. user204

    user204 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I'm not sure ...
    And my computer knowledge is not that advanced.. How do you do sfc/scannow? Just type it in cmd?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. forceofdestiny
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    321
  2. chrisg49
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    11,696
  3. chuck-HD
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    303
  4. serwaah
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    268
  5. GrannyFrogg
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    405
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1055111