1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error message from autoexec.

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by montroze, Feb 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. montroze

    montroze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    In my old 486 I just fired up, the windows3.11 logo come's up and then I get this 'error loading display.drv' and it sits at the c: prompt. any tips?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Boot to the C: prompt and type edit autoexec.bat and look at the line it is referring to. It probably says something like display.drv =

    Nost sure why it would be lodaing from there, it should be loading from the system.ini file.
     
  3. montroze

    montroze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Autoexec
    CD:WINDOWS
    @ECHO OFF
    PROMPT $P$G
    SET PATH=C:\MSIE40;C:\WINDOWS;C:\PMC;C:\DOS;C:\;C:\NET1FX\TRUMPET;C:\NET1\TRUMPET;C:\NET\TRUMPET
    LH C:\DOS\MSCDEX.EXE /S /D:MSCD0001 /M:30 /D
    C:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE 1024 256 /X
    REM +----------------------------------------------------------------------+
    REM Do not remove the line below, it enables Sound Card compatibility.
    LH C:\FORTE16\UTILITY\EMUTSR.EXE
    REM Do not remove the line above, it enables Sound Card compatibility.
    REM +----------------------------------------------------------------------+
    SET DIRCMD=/O
    SET TEMP=C:\PBTOOLS\WINTEMP
    SET WINPMT=[WINDOWS] $P$G
    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 T4
    SET GALAXY=A220 I5 D1 K10 P530 T6
    SET SOUND=C:\FORTE16
    WIN
    REM TYPE C:\PBFRONT\TEXT\EXIT2.MSG


    REM AON101.COM 0x69


    REM CD C:\WGSERV
    REM CALL WG GO

    config.sys
    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
    DEVICE=C:\windows\Emm386.exe Noems

    rem DEVICE=C:\DOS\EMM386.EXE
    DEVICE=C:\DOS\ANSI.SYS
    install=c:\dos\share.exe /f:4096 /l:25
    DOS=UMB,HIGH
    REM DEVICE=C:\FOS\BNU.SYS /P2 /L1:19200
    rem DEVICE=C:\DOS\EMM386.EXE RAM MIN=0 D=64
    FILES=127
    BUFFERS=8
    STACKS=9,256
    FCBS=1,0
    DEVICEHIGH=C:\WINDOWS\MOUSE.SYS
    DEVICEHIGH=C:\WINDOWS\IFSHLP.SYS
    REM DEVICE=C:\DOS\CDMKE.SYS /P:630 /E:MSCD0001
    LASTDRIVE=Z

    Need files=127 for some software I'm running
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    It's not loading from either of those files. Open the system.ini file and inder the [boot] section look for display.drv =

    The one that is listed should be in your path statement and it should be in the correnct directory. to get it working you can change it to vga.drv until you find the correct driver for it.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119060

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice