1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Error message in Firefox

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by dougglos, May 1, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,137
    First Name:
    Douglas
    I have recently started to use Mozilla Firefox as my browser, and usually it has been functioning well, but I occasionally get an error message which I don't know how to deal with. It comes about when I click on any of the website icons on my desktop, so as to open that particular one. But quite often I receive the following error message :- "Firefox is already running, but is not responding. The old Firefox process must be closed to open a new window," If I then click on "close", it goes to the website that I wanted, but I would just like to know if there is a way I can reach the website without the error message appearing? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    First Name:
    Liz
    Add the websites to your Bookmarks rather than an icon on your desktop. Open the bookmarks, right click the website and select open in a new tab.
     
    SpywareDr likes this.
  3. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,137
    First Name:
    Douglas
    Many thanks for that advice - I had never used the "Bookmarks" facility prevously, but have now set it up to take care of my required favourites. Will mark as solved shortly.
     
  4. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    First Name:
    Liz
    Also there is a bookmark toolbar. If you have some bookmarks you want to get to very fast, place them on the bookmark toolbar. They will be visible all the time near the address/search bar and you simply right click and open in a new tab.
     
  5. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,137
    First Name:
    Douglas
    Oh, even better ! Have placed a dozen or so of my most used items on a bookmarks toolbar, and would thank you so much for all your help!
     
  6. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    First Name:
    Liz
    Any time.
    I always place sites I want to get to easily in my bookmark toolbar. ( :oops: I currently have 56 items so I have a down arrow with overflow items. From time to time I remove some and relocate them to normal bookmarks folders. )
     
  7. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,137
    First Name:
    Douglas
    I have recently started to use Mozilla Firefox as my browser, and generally it is working properly. But every now and then, if I click on a desktop icon for the purpose of opening a required website, etc., the following message pops up:-

    "Firefox is already running but is not responding. The old Firefox process must be closed to open a new window" This can occur even when I have not been using any other website, etc.
    It does not happen every time, but I would like to know whether I can prevent the error message?
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,452
    First Name:
    James
    It sounds like it didn't close properly. Go into Task Manager and kill all firefox.exe processes and try again.
     
  9. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    First Name:
    Liz
    You can prevent the error by not saving a website on your desktop. Use the bookmark function of Firefox to save sites you want to visit again.
     
  10. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,137
    First Name:
    Douglas
    You helped me about three weeks ago by suggesting that procedure, and I went over to using the bookmarks facility. However, as before, if I click on these (via bookmarks rather than desktop icons) I get the exact same result, that is the message as shown in my opening post in this thread.

    I was wrong in saying "clicking on desktop icons", as I now use bookmarks entirely. But I still receive the error message as shown - it doesn't occur each time, but perhaps once in every ten.

    I must add that, on the occasions this error message pops up, it gives me the option of closing Firefox, and if I click on that, it goes straight to the particular website I was after. So I do get there, but I was trying to find a way of the error message not appearing at al.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,913
    Please do not start more than one thread for the same issue. I've merged them both together.
     
  12. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    First Name:
    Liz
    What version of Firefox are you running? I ask because it was updated to v 67.0 on Tuesday, the 21st.

    I run FF ESR and updated that. The current version is 60.7.
     
  13. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    396
    i had the exact same issue,only with chrome.Unfortunately i can't remember how i resolved the issue. Im thinking it was a bug in one of the updates and it just went away upon updating continuously.Not really sure though.Chrome would not close properly.Even though i exited out of it,it still continued to run in task manager.I had to end it in task manager before running it again.
     
  14. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,435
  15. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,435
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1226518

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice